mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#36787 - 17/07/03 12:27 AM How to undo $md5 ?
saragani Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 15/02/03
Posts: 282
How do I get back the data after using $md5 ?

for example:
//echo -a $md5(saragani) gives:

e5b00bea2f85e66ffe246e4669d3cca3

How can I get back to saragani from e5b00bea2f85e66ffe246e4669d3cca3
?

Top
#36788 - 17/07/03 12:28 AM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
Collective Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 10/12/02
Posts: 3138
Loc: London, UK
You don't, md5 is one way.

Top
#36789 - 17/07/03 12:29 AM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
saragani Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 15/02/03
Posts: 282
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Top
#36790 - 17/07/03 12:54 AM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
arps Offline
Ameglian cow

Registered: 09/12/02
Posts: 30
Loc: Texas, USA
You can only really use it to compare!

eg.
if ($md5(huh) == b71207f10d522d354a001768e21a78fe)
_________________________
technique

Top
#36791 - 17/07/03 06:57 AM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
LocutusofBorg Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 23/03/03
Posts: 1271
Loc: Sunnydale, CA
If you really must undo a decode, then use $encode and $decode. less secure, and others can get your password tho. They can $decode it too...
_________________________
DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius

Top
#36792 - 17/07/03 08:25 AM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
saragani Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 15/02/03
Posts: 282
Thanks.

The broblem that I had is that I was working with database of my old forum ,and all the passwords were stored in md5 format.

I though of registering all the old users with their passwords.
But since I can't unto md5, I thought of a new idea: the database of the the new forum (old one xmb, new one invision) hs the passwords stored in md5 format too, to I just copied all the passwords from the old database to the new one.

Altough it doesn't seems to be connected to mIRC, it does!! because I needed to know how to undo a md5.

Thanks.

Top
#36793 - 17/07/03 10:35 AM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 2265
i use this,it might not be much help but,i use a text file to log the $md5's:

Code:
alias unmd5 {
if ($gettok($read(unmd5.txt,$1,s),1,32) != $null) {
  return $gettok($read(unmd5.txt,$1,s),1,32)
}
else {
return no matches found for $1
}
}
alias newmd5 {
  if ($read(unmd5.txt,$1,s) == $null) {
    /write unmd5.txt $1 - $md5($1)
    //echo -a new md5 added for $1
  }
  else {
    //echo -a $1 is already logged
  }
}
_________________________
new username: tidy_trax

Top
#36794 - 17/07/03 12:45 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
lammkott Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 12/05/03
Posts: 215
Loc: Australia
That's rather defeats the purpose of using $md5 if you're just going to have a .txt file listing everything. You're better off saving it in a hash table: hadd md5 blah $md5(blah) then you can use: hsave -bo md5 md5.dat which would make viewing the content a little harder for someone without the knowledge of how to use $hget or other ways of viewing .dat files.
_________________________
- Jason

Top
#36795 - 17/07/03 12:47 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 2265
$readini can open .dat
_________________________
new username: tidy_trax

Top
#36796 - 17/07/03 12:53 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
lammkott Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 12/05/03
Posts: 215
Loc: Australia
Try this...

Code:
//hadd -sm md5 blah $md5(blah)
//hsave -bo md5 md5.dat
/run notepad.exe md5.dat


Then tell me how exactly $readini can open that without a [topic] and the fact that it's saved as a binary file.
_________________________
- Jason

Top
#36797 - 17/07/03 12:53 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
LocutusofBorg Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 23/03/03
Posts: 1271
Loc: Sunnydale, CA
saving the unencrypted and encrypted passwords in any way is totally ignoring the purpose of $md5 to begin with...
_________________________
DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius

Top
#36798 - 17/07/03 03:45 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 2809
I agree, if you are gonna do that, why bother using md5 at all? All you are doing is making things slower.

Top
#36799 - 17/07/03 03:58 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
LocutusofBorg Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 23/03/03
Posts: 1271
Loc: Sunnydale, CA
well, speed wasn't actually my point smile
_________________________
DALnet #Helpdesk
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. -Confucius

Top
#36800 - 17/07/03 04:01 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 2809
It wasn't mine either. My point was, he is using md5 in a manner that adds NO security. Therefore all using md5 is doing is creating extra processing that is useless.

Top
#36801 - 18/07/03 03:08 PM Re: How to undo $md5 ?
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 06/05/03
Posts: 2265
nope i use md5 for url purposes.
_________________________
new username: tidy_trax

Top