mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Disconnect button "safety catch" #36267 14/07/03 02:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 15
___ Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 15
When using mIRC, I have an awful tendancy to accidently disconnect myself, when trying to view the status window. This occurs due to the status window and the disconnect button being in such close proximity to each other.

I believe I am not alone in accidental disconnection when intending to view the status window, and so I propose for a form of "safety catch" for the disconnect button.

Perhaps something as simple as having an option that requires a double-click on the disconnect button for it to work. This option should be able to be turned on or off, as I am sure some users would be opposed to this "safety catch" idea.

An option that could disable the button altogether would also work well, I feel.

So I put forward this idea, and hope that it will at least be considered for a future release of mIRC. Thankyou for your time.

Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36268 14/07/03 02:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Yes, I have often done the same thing, I like the idea of double clicking because then it's not really an inconvenience. However it should be an option since I'm sure if it isn't there will be hundreds of "the disconnect button doesn't work" posts.

Also, another (sorta) solution is move your switch bar. If the switch bar is on the bottom or the right then the problem disappears.

Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36269 14/07/03 04:15 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
The [X] button has something similar to this already (in the form of an "Are you sure") so it should be easy to add to the disconnect button and inline with the [X] button the "Are you sure" can be turned on or off at will. I think this should be added too, a good idea.


Induced IRC
irc.induced.net
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36270 14/07/03 08:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
anything that would stop me from disconnecting from the wrong network cause i forgot where cursor was or meant to click on options and hit disconnect would be wondermous! I like the idea of an option to double click or ask me if im sure before i disconnect myself.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36271 15/07/03 08:15 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
O
obsessed Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
O
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
I feel a prompt like "Are you sure" would be the way to go and maybe the same sort of options that can be seen in File - Options - Connect - Options - Muilti-server.
Ironically I accidenly hit disconnect when I was looking for that in options. No joke.


If only women came with popup menus and online help.
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36272 15/07/03 06:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,620
Raccoon Online
Hoopy frood
Online
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,620
Great idea!

I'm at a toss-up between the double-click option vs the "Are You Sure" prompt... the first is unique and would be interesting to have, but the latter would fit in better with Khaled's current design.

* Raccoon is awwed that a Feature Suggestion thread has actually progressed this far without arguement.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36273 15/07/03 06:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
I kinda like double click better, reason is, if a dialog pops up you have to move the mouse, click yes or no and then it closes. Double clicking is less of a hassle, just click the button twice.

Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36274 16/07/03 02:20 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
It should definalty be an options between the two, and the yes/no as default. Reason being as some pointed out, users will be in here "why doesn't disconnect work?!?", or rather "MY DISCONNECT BUTTON DOESN'T WORK!!!!!!!!! (Crap-load more !'s)"


-KingTomato
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36275 16/07/03 02:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
if a dialog pops up you have to move the mouse

Now that would be just terrible wouldn't it lol. :tongue:


Induced IRC
irc.induced.net
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36276 16/07/03 05:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
the more i thought about it, i'm leaning towards the "are you sure" option. altho double click would solve the hitting disc rather than options, i'd still be disconnecting from the wrong network regularly crazy

Raccoon and KT made good points, it would be more in keeping (also what most users are accustomed to in general) AND we wouldnt be coping with tons of bug reports about disconnect not working. course, we would have a bunch about having to move the rodent <insert grin and a cookie at codemastr>


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36277 16/07/03 10:45 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
O
obsessed Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
O
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 130
I feel your pain, my mouse weighs 60kgs too. wink


If only women came with popup menus and online help.
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36278 16/07/03 11:39 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
If he did the right thing and used an M$ meese then he'd need less effort to move it. grin


Induced IRC
irc.induced.net
Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36279 16/07/03 02:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Actually with mine there is no effort to move it at all because the mouse cursor is set to auto jump to the default button of a dialog when it pops up. I was speaking in general. In my case it is the opposite, my mouse will jump from the disconnect button to the center of the screen so I have to move it back. I'm not saying it is hard to do, all I'm saying is, why make more work than is necessary?

Re: Disconnect button "safety catch" #36280 16/07/03 09:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,984
I suggested the "are you sure" because it's basically already there for other functions, which I assume means that adding it to the disconnect button will make life easier for Khaled. That cursor jump feature is something I really dislike (a personal view) because it's a bit unpredictable at times. First thing I did when I started my current job about 4 1/2 years ago was to disable it on all the machines I use at work, about 5 or 6 of them.


Induced IRC
irc.induced.net