mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#36187 14/07/03 03:09 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
why can't u fix that bug with the sapces that u can't use more then one chr 32 ??

#36188 14/07/03 04:55 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
this has been discussed many of times. It has to do with how mirc tokenized the string. Mirc divides the string by the character 32. Lets deal with a more visible character delimiter such as a period. If you have

Hello.There.....kingtomato
and tokenize that by 46, you get
$1 - Hello
$2 = There
$3 = KingTomato

Now if we allowed "null tokens" you could get

$1 - Hello
$2 - There
$3 -
$4 -
$5 -
$6 -
$7 - KingTomato

Okay, now same with a space. If mirc allowed you to have "null" tokens the problem would be solved. Now you may be wondering why it isn't so. Well, lets look at it in the perspecive of some loops. Some loops depend ona "null" for EOS (end of string) definition. Now with conceivably 4 nulls and a final word that checksum is destroyed. You could also use $0 i supposed, and not be done until the variable == $0. Im almost positive there are more reasons why it isn't so, but due to lack of ambition and energy im not going to put my mind at work. If I think of one why blindly surfing the internet, i will post it.


-KingTomato
#36189 14/07/03 06:59 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
i'm not talking about /tokenize 'ing , i want to know why the other spaces are stripped off in the command, for example //echo -a - $+ $str($chr(32),10) $+ -
put one space instead of 10, it has nothing to do with tokens
so even if there is no $null tokens my example should work

Last edited by ScatMan; 14/07/03 06:59 AM.
#36190 14/07/03 07:06 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 103
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 103
He was using tokenizing to describe how mIRC treats spaces, as the /tokenize command pretty much sums up how mIRC internally deals with spaces. But anyway, this topic has been done to death.

Use the search feature and you'll find dozens of threads about this "bug" (*coughs* feature (tm) *coughs). Search for "Whitespace" I think.

#36191 14/07/03 09:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
T
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
T
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 307
use binary vars if you want to work with more than one space together /help $bvar

#36192 15/07/03 12:32 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
no.. that's not helping
try to send a msg to a channel with more then one space together
if u type it normal without /msg or something (just type the msg in the editbox) it will work cuz mirc send it with the spaces
but if u are using /msg or something mirc will strip them and then send

#36193 15/07/03 12:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
M
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 9
That is because it never goes through mirc's script parser. That is the only time spaces are preserved, unless you are using binary variables. Changing the way mIRC handles spaces in scripts would break a lot of stuff in use today. Also, as others said, this topic has been beat to death. To add some spaces in, you could try using $chr(160) which in many fonts looks like a space, or:

Code:
alias spaces {
  return $str(  $+ $chr(32) ,$$1) 
}

Surrounding spaces with bold characters will preserve the spaces.


Abort, Retry, Fail?
www.liek.net
#36194 16/07/03 03:55 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
break what stuff ?
i don't understand

#36195 16/07/03 07:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
altering mirc so that multiple spaces are allowing would (almost definaly) cause any script relying on the current setup to fail, thus "break"

Now, we've talked this subject to death, there are undoubtidly 100's of posts on double spaces, why are you bringing this up now..


-KingTomato

Link Copied to Clipboard