mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#35162 09/07/03 04:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
J
Jassper Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
J
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Hello everyone and a good day, too!

When I start mIRC it connects automatically to channels of my choice, as stated in the perform section. That is very good. Now, how do I make mIRC to also automatically open a new server window and connect to channels on a different network?

In other words, how to make mIRC, when started, to connect to more networks at the same time and to connect to different channels on those networks?

In other words:), I want mIRC to connect automatically to channels #a and #b on network A and channels #c and #d on network B when started.

Thanks for your replies.

#35163 09/07/03 05:49 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
[Perform]
/join #chan1,#chan2,#chan3
/server -m <server2> [port] -j #chan4,#chan5,#chan6

Repeat the last line for ever server herafter. The "-j" after the server means "join on connect", seperate channels by commands, and make sure the "-m" property exists.


-KingTomato
#35164 09/07/03 07:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Make sure you select the right network in perform, if you select "All Networks" new server windows will open until throttles/nickname errors/etc. stop you connecting.

#35165 09/07/03 07:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
J
Jassper Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
J
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks for your reply. The syntax seems to work but there is a bug to it -

/join #chan1,#chan2,#chan3
/server -m <server2> [port] -j #chan4,#chan5,#chan6
/server -m <server3> [port] -j #chan7,#chan8,chan#9

I connect to channels 1, 2 and 3 and when the other server connects it not only connects to 4, 5 and 6 but also to 1, 2 and 3, which aren't supposed to open for that server. Server 3 then connects to channels 7, 8 and 9 but also to all channels mentioned before - 1 - 6.

How do I make to open only channels I want for the particular server? Thanks.

#35166 09/07/03 07:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Try this way instead:
1. Press alt+r to open remotes
2. If there is text in there, goto File -> New
3. Paste in this text:
Code:
on *:START:{
  server &lt;server1&gt; [port] -j #chan1,#chan2,#chan3
  server -m &lt;server2&gt; [port] -j #chan4,#chan5,#chan6
  server -m &lt;server3&gt; [port] -j #chan7,#chan8,chan#9
}

4. Make sure to remove the lines you put in perform*.

This should connect to all 3 servers at startup, even if the first one is down.

*Edit: Correction.

Last edited by Collective; 09/07/03 07:34 PM.
#35167 09/07/03 11:59 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
My mistake, i had forgotten about the infinate looping of perform >:D Thanks all for catching my mistake >:D


-KingTomato
#35168 10/07/03 06:00 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
J
Jassper Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
J
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Thanks a lot, it works. Now the last question if you will please : in my perform section I had this syntax to automatically make me an operator : /oper nick password . How do I make this one executes but only for that particular server and not for all of them?

Thanks.

#35169 10/07/03 08:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
H
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
That would be on CONNECT, a separate event.
Code:

on *:CONNECT: if ($network == YourNetwork) oper opernick operpass


DALnet: #HelpDesk and #m[color:#FF0000]IR[color:#EEEE00]C
#35170 10/07/03 09:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
The_Game does a double-take...

Holy hell he's alive! LOL

BTW: Welcome back

Last edited by The_Game; 10/07/03 09:25 PM.
#35171 10/07/03 10:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
lol--i did exactly as u describe game, a double take.. lol

wb Hammer


-KingTomato
#35172 11/07/03 09:43 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
T
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,237
The_Game disables the IRC Amber Alert System on Hammer and posts one on Nimue

grin


Link Copied to Clipboard