mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#28610 - 07/06/03 08:51 PM /return bug or my mistake... Explain, please
MauS Offline
Babel fish

Registered: 05/05/03
Posts: 78
Loc: Moscow, Russia
"/return %var" doesn't work if:
1) %var is someone's nick
2) there's a query window opened (but not active) to that nick

I think "/return %var" tries to do something with that query window and doesn't return the value.

(I'm using "/return %var" in a custom identifier)
_________________________
-= endless in a victory of a yourself =-

Top
#28611 - 07/06/03 11:45 PM Re: /return bug or my mistake... Explain, please
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 07/01/03
Posts: 2523
I couldn't reproduce the bug and I tend to think there isn't one. Your problem is most possibly script-related. Show us a specific script that 'reproduces the bug' so we can see whether it's a bug and, if it isn't, try to pinpoint the error.
_________________________
/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com

Top
#28612 - 08/06/03 05:31 AM Re: /return bug or my mistake... Explain, please
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 12/12/02
Posts: 2809
Define "doesn't work" It returns random letters? It returns nothing? mIRC freezes? mIRC crashes? You get error messages? etc. Also what version of Windows and of mIRC? But in any case I can't reproduce it:

alias test { query codemastr | var %var = codemastr | return %var }

//echo -s $test
it opens the query window to codemastr, then prints codemastr to the status window

WinME mIRC 6.03

Top
#28613 - 08/06/03 07:35 AM Re: /return bug or my mistake... Explain, please
MauS Offline
Babel fish

Registered: 05/05/03
Posts: 78
Loc: Moscow, Russia
Yeah, seems that was totally my fault. I didn't add $active parametr somewhere, and %var was treated like a window name...

Sorry for bothering blush
_________________________
-= endless in a victory of a yourself =-

Top
#28614 - 09/06/03 01:37 PM Re: /return bug or my mistake... Explain, please
Demolish Offline
Bowl of petunias

Registered: 09/06/03
Posts: 2
You didnt do it right..

alias test { query codemastr | var %var = codemastr | return %var }

is wrong. It should be:

alias test { query codemastr | set %var codemastr | return %var }




you wrote "var %var = codemastr"
it should be: set %var codemastr

So when I do the right one, I get: * /echo: insufficient parameters


So, problem reprodused

Top
#28615 - 09/06/03 01:57 PM Re: /return bug or my mistake... Explain, please
MonoSex Offline
Fjord artisan

Registered: 09/12/02
Posts: 395
Loc: Ireland
I can't reproduce it.

Top