Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#269866 08/02/22 05:51 PM
P
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Hello. I'm new to scripting and need help with a modest script I made below, please. It's working, but it's not doing exactly what I want which is to trigger ONLY when the said text FULLY matches what is in .txt file.

For example, let's say I have the line "What is the color of an apple?" in a .txt file. I DON'T want the script to trigger on "color of an apple?" or "an apple?" or "apple?" etc, but ONLY if it matches EXACTLY (word for word, including spaces) the sentence "What is the color of an apple?" from the .txt file, with not a character more or less. In other words, I want it to trigger ONLY on a %100 match.

I've tried reading a lot, but it's too complicated for me. Here's what I have:

on *:TEXT:*:#:{
var %WhatWasSaid = $1-
if ($read(QA.txt,w,$+(*,%WhatWasSaid ,*)) != $null) {do something}
}

Pan-dimensional mouse
Pan-dimensional mouse
Code
  var %msg1 $strip($1-) | var %msg2 $+(*,%msg1,*) | var %file QA.txt
  if ($read(%file,-nw,%msg2)) {
    var %num $readn | var %str $+(*,$read(%file,-n,%num),*)
    if (%str iswmcs %msg1) { msg $chan 04Line %num 12- there is a 100% match. }
  }
}

🌐 http://forum.epicnet.ru πŸ“œ irc.epicnet.ru 6667 #Code | mIRC scripts, help, discuss, examples
P
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Hello and thanks for replying, Epic.

I copied and pasted your code to test it and nothing happened. confused

If I add the "w" switch, though, to your 4th line

var %num $readn | var %str $+(*,$read(%file,-nw,%num),*)

it then works, but it's back to doing the same thing: responding to all of the below texts (even without the question mark)

What is the capital of Germany?
is the capital of Germany?
the capital of Germany?
capital of Germany?
of Germany?
Germany?

I want it to trigger ONLY on the first line from the QA.txt, which is What is the capital of Germany?

L
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
L