mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
-46 switches for $urlget? #269555 29/10/21 08:39 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,640
maroon Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,640
Is it possible for $urlget have -46 switches to try forcing the connection to be from ipv4 or ipv6?

I was under the impression that mIRC would use ipv4 for everything by default, unless the 'prioritize ipv6' box was checked in options/connect/options/ports, but i'm not seeing that.

Using Talon's snippet at
https://forums.mirc.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/269401/re-youtube-link-to-title-for-mirc#Post269401

I was connecting to the webform like:

/WebsiteDataTester https://www.random.org/quota/?format=plain

This url gives the quota belonging to the ip address they see you connecting from. After I took some random bits so the ipv4/ipv6 quotas would be different, I get reply #1 from /sockopen -4. But I get reply#2 from from using -46 or -6 or neither switch, or from using $urlget. This tells me that but $urlget and /sockopen are defaulting to connect me from ipv6, even though I didn't check the box to prioritize ipv6, and $ip is an ipv4 number at all networks.

I tested what would happen if I enabled the 'bind ip' option next to 'prioritize ipv6', and bound the LAN ipv4 address, but there was no change in default for /sockopen or $urlget.

Re: -46 switches for $urlget? [Re: maroon] #269557 29/10/21 11:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,020
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,020
$urlget() uses the WinINet API. It is independent of all other network-related features in mIRC. As far as I can tell, there is no option to make WinINet use IPv4 or IPv6, and it is not possible to make it bind to a specific adapter, other than specifying an IPv4 or IPv6 address. That said, I don't recall anyone having tested that when $urlget() was originally added.