mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
M
miiza Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
M
Hello guys, I'm new to mIRC scripts, and did a "hi" script for the channels I'm in, the thing is, I want to make a user cooldown for my script, but don't know how, I tried to find something that fit my script but was unable do find it.

Here is the script:
Code
ON *:TEXT:*:#: {
  if (($1 = oi) || ($1 = oie) || ($1 = oii) || ($1 = oiie) || ($1 = oiii) || ($1 = ola) || ($1 = olá)) {
    msg # $nick Oi marsbmpHi  
  }
}

Can anyone help with this? Thanks

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
DId you try searching the forum for the keyword cooldown? You weren't clear whether you want the cooldown to be per-user or have everyone share the same countdown. You can either put the countdown in a global %variable or in a hashtable item. You can either use /set's -uN switch that makes the variable be unset after N seconds, or use the same switch with /hadd to add a temporary item to the table. You can instead use the -z switch to set the variable/table-item to a number, which then decreases by 1 each second, then unsets rather than be <= 0.

When you create a per-user countdown, you would want to make a variable name or hashtable name that's not likely to use the same names used by someone else's script. i.e. if you're using a shared cooldown for all nicks, and you did "set -u30 %cooldown $nick" then both scripts using the %cooldown variable would be interfering with each other. If using a hashtable, you need to either create the table when mirc starts, or use the -m switch each time you add something to the table. To create a variable name, it's a little more complicated to create compound variable names containing the nick, which can be a different to create it than to check it.