mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
T
T20 Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
T
I have been running mIRC on the same computer for ~8 years now. As far back as I can remember it has been using a surprising share of the CPU time. I'm on many networks and quite some channels though. This is a server that has some other things to do, and recently it has been assigned some more real-time critical jobs that suffers because of mIRC constantly using 20-50 % of the CPU (average % over a longer time is 25-30).

The CPU is an AMD Turion II Neo @ 1.5 GHz (dual core). 4 GB of RAM (but seldom using allocating more than 50-75 % of it). System/mIRC disk is a fast SSD on SATA-II in AHCI mode (disk access is very low). Operating system is Windows 2019 Server (Datacenter edition, 64-bit), things were the same with Server 2012 R2 and 2008 R2. Using the integrated GPU or an Nvidia Geforce GT710 makes no difference.

Memory, disk access and network traffic are never close to being bottlenecks and mIRC uses very little of them, it is just the CPU time that is the problem. The mIRC GUI is also rather unresponsive and switching channel windows , typing in the input field or scrolling in backlog has noticeable lag, from fractions of a second to several seconds until a response is seen (not response to running a command, just showing what I type). This happens even when the CPU is not running at full load, other programs run fine.

I am looking for help in what I can do to make mIRC use less CPU, and hopefully also make it more responsive, without crippling it by lowering the process priority.

I am on ~55 channels over 22 networks, none of the channels have any real heavy traffic.