mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
D
Dayvid Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
D
Scripting newbie here. I know /me isn't long but I'm having trouble with my hands, and it's a pain during rp.

Any suggestions on how to be able to create an alias work around? I'd like to be able to use F1 to basically type /me, and let me type my text, or swap my text color to that of my /me, and swap back after hitting return. I'm stuck. I've looked into a number of different approaches, but no luck so far. I did find one that gave me a dialogue box to type in, but it's small and I can't glance back and see more than half a sentence. Any suggestions on the right approach to take would be great. Any code suggestions would be much appreciated. It seems much simpler than all the time I've researched so far! smile

Thanks

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
How about this. If the active window is a channel or query window, and the editbox isn't empty, it does "/me contents" then does the equivalent of pressing the enter key. This also has the advantage of putting that into the history so you can repeat it with up-arrow. If you don't want it in the history, you can change the command to just "/me $v1".

Note that this replaces the normal opening of the helpfile using the F1, so you can make an alias to do that from control+F1 like: cF1 /help

If this alias is in the aliases tab instead of the remote tab, then remove the beginning "alias" keyword.

Code
alias F1 { if (($window($active).type isin channel query) && ($editbox($active) != $null)) editbox -n $active /me $v1 }

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
Question for Dayvid, is this where you intend to type a long succession of /me emotes, and so it's repetitively tedious?

If so, you can try this alias. I use something similar for successive /notices and /onotices, that I'll include for extra examples.

Code
/alias /em { me $$1- | editbox -ap /em }

/alias /no { notice $1 $$2- | editbox -ap /no $1 }