Print Thread
#266352 21/11/19 04:26 AM
N
Nimueh Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
N
I'm very new to mIRC scripting. I've been searching around for something similar and haven't had any luck so far.

I'd like a script that'll return a random item from a list. i.e. !pick a, b, c, d, and it responds with a, b, c, or d, randomly. I've gotten to:

On *:TEXT:!pick *:#: {

And there I get stuck. I thought I should be using $gettok, but I can't seem to make that work. Ideally it would accept multi-word items that are separated by a comma. Could anyone help me out or point me in the right direction?

Nimueh #266355 21/11/19 05:27 PM
W
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
W
Inside on text, $1- is a space separated list of token, $2- is going to be your list of comma separated value.
You do have to use $gettok, with $2- as the input then, and you want to generate a random number from 1 to the total number of token (item in your list), you can get the total number of item in the list using $numtok
44 is the ascii number for comma (32 for space) so $numtok($2-,44) is how many items there is in the list specified in !pick.
You can use $rand (or just $r()) to get a random number between two numbers: $rand(1,$numtok($2-,44)) is going to be a random number between 1 and the number of item in the list.
All in all, you get $gettok($2-,$rand(1,$numtok($2-,44)),44) to get a random item in the list

Code
On *:TEXT:!pick *:#: {
msg $chan random item: $gettok($2-,$rand(1,$numtok($2-,44)),44)
}

The !pick * trigger could be improved as well; currently it triggers on "!pick " or anything not being a list of comma separated values.

#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
Nimueh #266357 21/11/19 10:18 PM
H
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
H
Code
on *:text:!pick *:#:{
  msg # $gettok($2-,$rand(1,$numtok($2-,44)),44)
}

To help you understand how this works:

$2- is everything after !pick, so in your example $2- will contain "a, b, c, d"