mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Disable RTL in Script Editor #265327 02/04/19 07:51 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,665
Raccoon Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,665
I finally figured out what's going on here after years of frustration, and it's super annoying.

If you press and hold the Right-Ctrl key, then press and release the Right-Shift key, the whole script editor goes into Right-To-Left (RTL) mode.

If you then press and hold the Left-Ctrl key, then press and release the Left-Shift key, the script editor will revert back to Left-To-Right (LTR; non-RTL) mode.

For years this bugged me, because it would happen while using selection navigation keys such as Ctrl+Shift + Home/End/Up/Down etc. Turns out if my finger releases the Shift key before the Ctrl key, it will enter RTL mode. I never knew why this was or how to undo it until now.

If RTL mode might be useful to someone, please add a push button to get out of RTL mode when somebody accidentally gets into it.

...

There is also a mysterious RTL hotkey for the typical channel/query Editbox, but I'm not sure how I accidentally get into that just yet. It's a different key combination.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: Disable RTL in Script Editor [Re: Raccoon] #265339 02/04/19 11:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,582
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,582
I must say it happened more than once for me in the channel editbox, but never in the script editor, so if you find the shortcut for the editbox you're golden. Both are richedit control, it's weird.

I once suggested for the script editor to indicate when we are in insert mode, which is not visible just like that, right to left is pretty visible, so perhaps the shortcut should be noted in the help file or something rather than a button which would not be used at all for most.


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: Disable RTL in Script Editor [Re: Wims] #265340 03/04/19 05:08 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,665
Raccoon Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,665
As for a push button; my suggestion is that if someone enters into RTL mode in the script editor, that a magic button becomes visible that they can click to get out of RTL. It wouldn't be visible any other time. This is only if RTL can't/shouldn't be completely disabled all together.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!