mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#257237 24/03/16 06:16 AM
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
Hey Guys,

I am pretty new to mIRC. I have a small, self taught background in HTML/CSS, but I am now trying to learn mIRC to have the coolest Twitch bot ever.

Anyway, I have a script that replies in a cheeky way when someone uses the wrong grammar with your/you're.

WHAT I WANT:
I want the response to happen when anyone says something like "your a star!"

THE PROBLEM:
It is responding to people even when they say something like "your arsenal" because "your a" is in that sentence. I tried adding a space to it, so it knows that it has to be the word "a" and not just anything with 'a' in it, but I can't figure it out.

Obviously I can't use "on *:TEXT: Your a:* " because that would have to be ALL they type, but "on *:text:*your a*:#:" isn't working either.

I know this is basic, and probably already answered somewhere, but I didn't know what to search.

Thanks,
Tara

Babel fish
Babel fish
Try using a regular expression. You can get help with, and test your own regular expressions using a site like http://www.regexr.com/

Code:
on $*:text:/your\s(a|an)\s/i:#: {
  msg # success!
}

Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
Thanks. I am really confused about what all of the */# stuff even means in this language, and it seems that site kinda helps with it.

Is there a good place to start when trying to learn what they all mean? I've been searching, and everything seems to be above my skill-level. frown

I can't even get the copy/pasted code for link timing out or caps timing out to work, and I suspect it's because you need to know enough to know which variables to change so it works with your specific channel. I also can't figure out how to actually write a reglist (the commands I've found don't work when pasted.)