mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons #250721 28/01/15 06:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
Somehow, I clicked something and my channel buttons all moved to the bottom and are covering Windows task bar. When I move the buttons to the top, mIRC still covers Windows task bar. How can I fix this?


mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250722 28/01/15 07:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
I assume you have your Windows Taskbar set to Auto-hide. I would say you accidentally set mIRC to Always On Top.

Right-click mIRC's title bar, and uncheck "On Top."


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250723 28/01/15 07:44 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
Sorry to say I can't even find setting for Windows Task Bar and mIRC not set for always on top.


mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250724 28/01/15 07:49 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
See if a reboot helps then. It might be a one time glitch in Windows.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250725 28/01/15 07:59 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
No help with three reboots.


mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250726 28/01/15 08:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
Right-click a blank area on your Windows Taskbar. Select Properties. Un-check "[x] Auto-hide the taskbar."


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250727 28/01/15 08:40 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks for your continuing help. The "auto-hide" in Windows Task Bar wasn't checked. I checked it and unchecked it. No help.


mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250728 28/01/15 08:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
I'm out of ideas for the behavior as you've described it. Would you mind showing us?

Press the PrntScn button your keyboard to take a screen capture.

Open https://imgur.com/ and click on Upload at the top.

Press CTRL+V to paste your screen capture and click Start Upload.

Share the Imgur link with us.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Raccoon] #250729 28/01/15 09:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
Uploaded as mircsettings.jpg -- as you can see, there should be four lines of channel buttons.


mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250730 28/01/15 09:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,559
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,559
I think you are talking about the switchbar, right click in an empty area of that bar with the 'channel buttons' and select position > top, if you want it on top.
But even at the bottom it shouldn't overlap the taskbar, that could be explained by the fact that you have mIRC running in fullscreen, you can press F11 to toggle the fullscreen mode

Last edited by Wims; 28/01/15 10:02 PM.

Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Wims] #250731 28/01/15 10:03 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
The channel names at the bottom of the mIRC screen. Should be four rows. That part would be okay if those were raised a bit. Also the minimize/maximize and X to close aren't showing.


mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250732 28/01/15 10:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,559
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,559
You are a bit unclear, can you make a screenshot of what you mean? You can type /menubar on in any editbox to display the menubar, without it you cannot get the minimize/maximize/close buttons of a window when maximized


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250738 29/01/15 10:24 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
Raccoon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,642
Originally Posted By: Handle_With_Care
Uploaded as mircsettings.jpg -- as you can see, there should be four lines of channel buttons.


Where is the upload? You didn't follow my Imgur instructions.


Well. At least I won lunch.
Good philosophy, see good in bad, I like!
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250747 29/01/15 04:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
It sounds like you might have the "Full Screen" option enabled?

Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Khaled] #250749 29/01/15 05:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
BINGO! That fixed it. Many thanks, Khaled. You're the tops as always smile

Last edited by Handle_With_Care; 29/01/15 05:58 PM.

mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Handle_With_Care] #250750 29/01/15 06:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,559
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,559
Well, I suggested that in my first post wink


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: mIRC covering Windows Task Bar/buttons [Re: Wims] #250756 29/01/15 09:10 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
H
Handle_With_Care Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 61
You are correct, Wims, and my apologies. I was looking at a different full screen setting and didn't find that one in Settings. I found it in View and things all okay now. Thanks for your patience and help.


mIRC 7.51, 64-bit Win-7/SP1 Home Premium
IRC Operator irc.Prison.NET