mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#24849 18/05/03 09:38 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
G
Gwion Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
G
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Hi,

Since it happens sometimes that nickserv changes my nick to a standard one or when I reconnect and the name is still in use the perform command can't work, is there a way to check with a script which nickname I have (lets say after every 5 or 10 minutes) and if it is not one of e.g. two specified or contains a certain word (like guest or something) change it to another one?

Thx,
Gwion

#24850 18/05/03 11:25 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Well, I would make an alias like this
Code:
alias CheckNick {
  if (($me != Nick1) || ($me != Nick2) || (Guest isin $me)) nick MyNick
  if (!$timer(CheckNick)) .timer CheckNick 0 300 CheckNick
}

Then you could just add CheckNick to your perform.

#24851 18/05/03 02:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
G
Gwion Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
G
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Hi,

Thanks.
Just, as i understand this it would only work after connecting .. what, if the nick got changed (as nickserv for whatever reason sometimes does) while I am still connected?

Gwion

#24852 18/05/03 02:45 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
It checks every 5 minutes as you requested

Edit: See where it sets the timer in the alias

Last edited by r0ck; 18/05/03 02:53 PM.
#24853 18/05/03 04:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
G
Gwion Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
G
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Hi,

Hm, I seem to be too stupid ..
It does not do anything .. but I get a msg: /timer: invalid parameters (line 3, checknick)

It looks like this now:
alias /CheckNick {
if (($me != Nick1) || ($me != Nick2) || (Guest isin $me)) nick Nick2
if (!$timer(CheckNick)) .timer CheckNick 0 300 CheckNick}

Sorry .. what am I making wrong?
In the perform window I wrote alais CheckNick

Wondering a bit since I thought it must be something like /command

Gwion

#24854 18/05/03 04:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Change ".timer CheckNick 0 300 CheckNick" to ".timerCheckNick 0 300 CheckNick".

#24855 18/05/03 06:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
G
Gwion Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
G
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18
Hi,

Gives a
ERROR > 421: Unknown command: CHECKNICK}
message after 4 minutes

Gwion

#24856 18/05/03 06:37 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Code:
alias CheckNick {
  if (($me != Nick1) || ($me != Nick2) || (Guest isin $me)) nick MyNick
  if (!$timer(CheckNick)) .timerCheckNick 0 300 CheckNick
}

^You need the } on a new line


Link Copied to Clipboard