mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
V
Vito Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
V
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
When I double click a nic in a channel I get this error msg: Error recursive call (line 339, alias1.mrc).
When I try to initiate a query from the console from a contact on notify, i get this msg: Error recursive call (line 585, alias1.mrc)

Please let me know how to fix this!

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,358
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,358

Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Y
Pikka bird
Offline
Pikka bird
Y
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
This has to do with a change made in 7.33.

You will have to prefix the commands within those aliases with '!'. For example, /msg would become /!msg inside a 'msg' alias, and /query would become /!query inside a 'query' alias. This essentially forces mIRC to check for a built-in command by that name, and if none is found I believe it sends the command directly to the server.

Your code will likely need to be changed to resemble something like this:
Code:
alias query {
  ;The '!' command prefix was not previously required inside an alias of the same name
  !query $1-
}


I hope that helps.

edit: link above

Last edited by Yawhatnever; 27/06/14 06:01 PM. Reason: .33 not .34
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 448
K
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
K
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 448
Someone should create a stick post with "Error recursive call" as the topic and the body be a summery as to why this change was made / how to fix the scripts.

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
V
Vito Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
V
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Why don't they just fix it? Me going in there and messing with things isn't the best idea lol.. not to mention there are probably other commands not working.

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,358
L
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,358
This is the fixed behavior. Read the topic I linked.

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
V
Vito Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
V
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
i meant for MIRC to fix it and put it out. I'm not very comfortable going into the script and making changes.

Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
F
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
F
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 969
Originally Posted By: Vito
i meant for MIRC to fix it and put it out. I'm not very comfortable going into the script and making changes.
What you are experiencing is depreciated functionality. The scripting engine has changed to remove a possible exploit. What is causing the error IS a fix for a long standing bug.


I am SReject
My Stuff

Link Copied to Clipboard