mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
K
Kisuke Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
K
This is going to be a strange question but I'm just curious if there's a way via mIRC scripting to tell the computer that a controller button has been pressed.

Basically I have an external program running but I want my IRC channel users to be able to control the external program, which I've set up with Joy2key. Basically if someone presses button 2 on the controller it would act as though someone pressed X on the keyboard or something in that program.

I'm not sure if this is even possible but I've seen some pretty impressive things done with the mIRC scripting language so I thought I'd ask.

D
Babel fish
Babel fish
D
Hey, I'm not an mIRC expert so don't take my word for it... but I've been scripting in MSL for a while now and i've never seen any script that was able to access an external program unfortunately.

If you learn another language like C++ you can access another program, but thats usually done through illegal ways (which is why i won't talk about it here).

Last edited by dominic_eddy; 18/02/14 10:21 PM.
T
Bowl of petunias
Bowl of petunias
T
It is not illegal as far as I know.

Yeah, you need another program read everything directly from mirc or the log file.

Although reading from log file can be slow.

P
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
P
It's pretty easy to interact with external programs with mirc. I have made c# programs which my bot will start simply by using /run and passing parameters to the c# exe. I also have the exe communicate back to mirc but you shouldn't need that with this.

If you could map the buttons you need to normal keys there is a way to send keystrokes from mirc.

Code:
on *:text:f1:#:sendkeys {F1}

alias sendkeys var %a = $ticks | .comopen %a WScript.Shell | if !$comerr { .comclose %a $com(%a,SendKeys,3,bstr,$1-) }