mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Maximum file size in mirc #243213 28/10/13 11:47 AM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
K
Kiron Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
K
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
hi!!!!
What is the maximum file size that you can download through mirc?? is it 4gb??when i try to download file size of 6.2 GB mirc reports that file is only big 4 GB confused

Re: Maximum file size in mirc [Re: Kiron] #243215 28/10/13 07:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
I guess your system set the limit, 32 bits system will not allow as big files as 64 bits.


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: Maximum file size in mirc [Re: sparta] #243216 28/10/13 08:23 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 295
P
pball Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 295
I didn't think cpu bits had anything to do with file sizes, just ram. File size is typically dictated by filesystem. Also what version of mirc are you using, I believe some version before 6.35 (maybe the 6.1 or 6.2 series) had a 4gb max file size for dcc transfers. Pretty sure 6.35 doesn't and I know 7.xx doesn't.


http://scripting.pball.win
My personal site with some scripts I've released.
Re: Maximum file size in mirc [Re: pball] #243217 28/10/13 08:36 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
No, you cant put a 4 gig file on a 32bit, x86 system. Same as you wont be able to use more then 3gb ram in a 32bit, x86 system


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: Maximum file size in mirc [Re: sparta] #243220 28/10/13 10:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 295
P
pball Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
P
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 295
sparta you are wrong. The ram part is completely true but file size is only limited by filesystem.



I just copied that file to a 32bit machine and the universe didn't end.

I'm not going to post again until the op replies back with what version of mirc he has.


http://scripting.pball.win
My personal site with some scripts I've released.
Re: Maximum file size in mirc [Re: pball] #243230 30/10/13 12:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
K
Kiron Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
K
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Originally Posted By: pball
i'm not going to post again until the op replies back with what version of mirc he has.


i am currently using version 6.21.maybe i should upgrade to higher version smile

Re: Maximum file size in mirc [Re: Kiron] #243364 12/11/13 05:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,410
maroon Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,410
with both of us using mirc 6.35, someone sent a file to me which was slightly larger than 2.0 gig. The send failed at around the 2 gig mark, and when he resumed send, it started writing from near the beginning of the file to the end of the received file.