mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#242322 03/07/13 09:21 PM
K
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
K
Hello, first of all I am a total noob when it comes to scripting or anything related but I wanted to write a script or get some help with it.

So basically what I want is sort of like a trivia bot but not really. I want users to be able to type a command such as !V test1 test2 test3 where it will search for keywords in any questions/text it finds like test1, test2 and test3 and then relay the results when the user uses !V.

I have a long list of questions/answers but I don't want people to guess or try to answer, I want the bot to relay both the question and answer all in one message when somebody uses the !V search for keywords function. If it helps the list is on a website/wiki board but I don't know if it's possible to somehow link it in the script.

Thanks for any help you can offer me.

KingJoffrey #242326 04/07/13 06:28 PM
Babel fish
Babel fish
This is absolutely possible, but it's not very simple. First, you simply need to create a bot script that watches for the !V typing event from users, such as:

Code:
ON *:TEXT:!V *:#: {
 ; Everything you want the bot to do goes in here
}

You can set the '#channelname' to anything, but if you want the bot to respond to all requests in any channel, you would simply leave it as '#'.

The next thing on your list is comparing a search query within a set of text and whether or not the query exists. This is fairly simple to do as well:

Code:
ON *:TEXT:!V *:#: {
 var %nickname = $nick, %string = $1-, %query = $gettok(%string,1,45), %searchin = $gettok(%string,2-,45)

if (%query iswm %searchin) {
    .msg # %nickname $+ : " $+ %query $+ " was found in " $+ %searchin $+ ".
    return
 }
 .msg # %nickname $+ : Search query " $+ %query $+ " was not found in your request: " $+ %searchin $+ ".
}