mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
M
mehenky Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
M
im new to the mirc scripting stuff. i need some help with separating a random value.

for example; after a calculation. var %money = { $calc(54 * 2154 ) }

%money = 116316

now the output of the $calc function should be separeted by a comma every 3 digits. starting from the back.

so it would look like this: $ 116,316 or if the output was larger $ 1,116,316

searched on the web but couldn't find a suitable awnser.

W
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
W
Look at /help $bytes wink
Note also that you are using { } incorrectly here, it works because of the way the mirc's parser works but it's incorrect, I suggest you also look at /help /var, you can see the syntax doesn't use { } at all.

#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
M
mehenky Offline OP
OP Offline
M
thanks for the quick replay. gonna check it out smile

tought it was with {}. thanks for the tip.

J
Pikka bird
Pikka bird
J
create a $comma function:

alias comma {
var %a, %b = $regsub($ticks,$$1,/\G([+-]?\d+?)(?=(?:\d{3})++(?=\.\d++$|$))/g,\1 $+ $chr(44),%a)
return %a
}

To use: var %money = $comma(1234567890)

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
There isn't any need to make a comma identifier. As mentioned above, $bytes() will do this for you.

Code:
var %money = $bytes(1234567890,b)

Regardless how you do this, always keep in mind that if your number gets too large, it will cause an error. So if you're making a game where you are giving huge amounts of money, you may want to reconsider and give less money.

Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
W
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
W
How using a large number will cause an error exactly? At best he will get a loss of precision, perhaps that is what you meant to say.

I should also point out that the regex version won't cause any loss in precision, which should also be the case for $bytes in this case, imo.