mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
A
Alesso Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
A
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Hello.

I'm trying to figure out how I can use different nicknames on two different servers that I'm using.

I've used a script so that I get connected on startup to the two different servers but I cant seem to figure out how I use different nicknames on the two servers.

When I change nickname manually it changes nickname for the both servers.

Anyone have any idea on how to do this?

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
I assume you use the /server command to connect to both servers in your script. You can incorporate all info in that command. See /help /server

E.g.
server irc.server.net -i nick1 nick2 user@fake.net myrealname
server -m irc.server2.org 6670 -i nickA nickB user@fake.net myrealname

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
A
Alesso Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
A
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Originally Posted By: 5618
I assume you use the /server command to connect to both servers in your script. You can incorporate all info in that command. See /help /server

E.g.
server irc.server.net -i nick1 nick2 user@fake.net myrealname
server -m irc.server2.org 6670 -i nickA nickB user@fake.net myrealname


Thank you alot!

That worked like a charm!

Is it possible to make it use a password for one of the servers though?

Last edited by Alesso; 31/10/12 10:44 AM.
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
As you can see in the help file, the format is:

/server [-46emnsarpfocz] <server/groupname> [port] [password] [-i nick anick email name] [-jn #channel pass]

So you'd use the password after the server address (and port) and before the -i switch.

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
A
Alesso Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
A
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks smile

Got it working now.

I just have one more question, is it possible to hide the servers I am connected too so I only see what channels I'm connected too?

[img]http://imgur.com/gqlV7[/img]

I want to hide "SwiftIRC" And Twitchy Lausanneok

Would it be possible?

Last edited by Alesso; 31/10/12 10:59 AM.
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
W
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
W
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Hello all,

as my question-problem is quite similar to this one, I hope you don't mind me posting in this thread instead of opening a new one.

So I have 2 nicknames for the same server, I've managed to make a simple two "on connect" scripts, no worries there.

What is posing me problems: would it be possible to make separate performs for those two nicks? I don't quite get how to incorporate nick ghosting in my scripts; and if I make lines in "the actual" perform, then it works for both nicknames, not separately.

Thx in advance smile

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
Just add another script. This should do the job.

Code:
raw 433:*Nickname is already in use*:{
  if ($2 == Nick1) .msg NickServ GHOST blabla | .timer 1 3 nick Nick2
  elseif ($2 == Nick3) .msg NickServ GHOST blabla | .timer 1 3 nick Nick4
}


Link Copied to Clipboard