mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
D
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
I have been using mirc for 14 years. Over the span of those years and the many different versions I've upgraded to, Ive collected many addons and snippets on my pc...

There is one feature I always wanted.

I'd like to be able to Preview a script I have on file in my pc within the mirc client itself, before adding it. ( sometimes I just cannot remember what the script does buy the title I gave it or for what version it was made for )

I realize I can always open a script in note-pad to see if its the one I wish to load, But wouldnt it be grand if I could preview it in a mirc window and then choose a " ADD to new remote" or " ADD new alias" button.

It would seem to me that saving time going back and forth from notepad to mirc would make my mirc experience better.

You could add a preview icon next to the remote editor icon or even within the remote editor itself. Load the script to view its contents, then choose ADD to new remote, ADD to Alias...etc etc. Also have a DO not ADD ( which will replace it back in the file so you can choose another to view)

anyway...

just another suggestion

Addition: Adding a delete function to the preview box would also make it possible to preview old scripts and delete them without having to add them into remotes to see if they are ones to keep or get rid of.

Last edited by DeeperStill; 01/08/12 09:41 PM.
A
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
A
You could script this quite easily with a dialog. Or you could, you know, just, /run path\to\myscript.mrc and then /load it if you like it.

I don't see how previewing in mIRC would be any different to the above.

- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
A
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
A
I should add two important notes: