mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
unable to resolve server #23809 12/05/03 01:33 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
Can someone please help me with this problem. I've tried a bunch of different servers, I've tried the ip number, I don't have a firewall yet I still get this problem everytime I try to connect.

Is there anything else I should check to see why I can't connect to mIRC?

thanks

Re: unable to resolve server #23810 12/05/03 06:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Ok, well here is what you should do. Go to a DOS Prompt/Commandline window (depending on your version of Windows) and type:

telnet the.irc.servers.ip 6667

Does it print any text when you do that? If it does, please include it here,if it doesn't, then you need to talk to your ISP.

Re: unable to resolve server #23811 12/05/03 11:04 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
It says:

"connecting to the.irc.servers.ip....Could not open connection to the host, on port 6667: Connection failed"


Re: unable to resolve server #23812 12/05/03 11:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Umm I didn't mean literally enter the.irc.servers.ip, I meant that is where you are supposed to put the IP you want to connect to.

Re: unable to resolve server #23813 12/05/03 11:34 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
lol...sorry....

here' s one...irc.easynews.com....but I don't know the ip for it....

...now do I type in:

"telnet irc.easynews.com 6667"

Re: unable to resolve server #23814 12/05/03 11:47 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Yes, that should be fine.

Re: unable to resolve server #23815 13/05/03 03:27 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
This is what it told me when I entered the info:

"Connecting to irc.easynews.com....could not open connection to the host, on port 6667: connect failed"

what should I do from here?

Re: unable to resolve server #23816 13/05/03 03:45 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
seems to me i heard easynews was down, but Efnet's website isnt cooperating with me tonight. Try each of these in mIRC:
/server irc.Prison.NET
/server 208.178.231.190

also make sure you arent blocking mIRC or the server ports (6660-6669,7000-7001 and 113) anywhere (firewall/router) I think prison runs on 6666 and 6667

usually when you get cant resolve server it means the server is down/doesnt exist or you are having a dns prob (in which case trying the ip does the trick)


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: unable to resolve server #23817 13/05/03 03:21 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
I tried both server addresses and they both told me:

"Unable to Connect (connection refused)"

How do I make sure I'm not blocking mIRC or the ports?
I don't have a firewall..so I don't think I'm blockin it...I have Windows XP...and I know it comes with a firewall...but I don't know how to check that....

Can someone tell me how to check the firewall for XP and tell me how to make sure I'm not blocking the ports?

thanks

Re: unable to resolve server #23818 13/05/03 03:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
The firewall in XP is off unless you enable it when you set up the connection or later on in Control Panel.

Re: unable to resolve server #23819 13/05/03 03:59 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
what about checking if I'm blocking the ports for mIRC??

How do I check that? And is there any other way I can check to see if I'm blocking mIRC?

Re: unable to resolve server #23820 13/05/03 11:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 699
N
Nimue Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 699
Try these
/server irc.servercentral.net
/server 66.150.99.99
Look here for some more.

Re: unable to resolve server #23821 14/05/03 05:28 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
i tried a bunch of them....they all give me the "unable to connect (connection refused)"

Re: unable to resolve server #23822 14/05/03 02:36 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
can someone tell me what the settings I should have for mIRC to make sure it'll work???

Also, can someone tell me how I check if I"m blocking some of the ports???

thanks

Re: unable to resolve server #23823 14/05/03 05:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
There are no ports you could be blocking, you are connecting to a remote system, not the other way around. Anyway, it seems like either a.) a firewall issue or b.) an ISP issue.

Re: unable to resolve server #23824 15/05/03 05:07 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
P
pretty Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 11
I called my ISP and they told me everything's fine...I did have a firewall, I un-installed it and the problem still persists...

I'm at a loss right now...