mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#234025 01/10/11 03:08 PM
M
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
M
I have been using Mirc for a couple of months. My friends seem to have a different version of Mirc so they were not able to help me with this question....

If I do not want to type out a complete message everytime I use it how do I go about setting it up so that I can just type a few letters ?

ie.... If I don't want to type 'Be Right Back' each time I want to use it, can I have it so that I can only type 'brb' and the entire message that I want will be displayed ? Thanks

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
/help on input

To allow replacing the text anywhere in a message:
Code:
on *:input:#: {
  var %message = $replacex($1-,brb,Be right back,ty,Thank you,wb,Welcome back)
  msg $chan %message
  halt
}

An alternative if you only want to replace the text if it's the only thing typed:
Code:
  if ($1 == brb) { msg $chan Be right back }
  elseif ($1 == ty) { msg $chan Thank you }
  elseif ($1 == wb) { msg $chan Welcome back }
  halt
}

Yet one more option similar to the first that limits it to only when you type the one thing:
Code:
  if (!$2) {
    var %message = $replacex($1,brb,Be right back,ty,Thank you,wb,Welcome back)
    msg $chan %message
    halt
  }
}

There are a variety of other methods as well, depending on how many "words" you want to add. If you wanted to have hundreds of these, you could set it up in a hash table or INI file to greatly improve the script, for example. But if you're only using 10 or even 20, then these should work fine for what you're doing.