mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
I
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
I
Sorry about the messy topic title. Tried to make it describe my issue. My sincerest apologies if it worked against it's purpose.

I've searched high and low and experimented with so many different variables of commands without any success that my head is spinning. If there is anyone here who could kindly point me in the right direction I would be more than grateful!

I'm no master coder - I will admit that - so my description of my problem might seem a bit vague. I will attempt to clear up any confusion to the best of my effort.

I'm trying to run a "check" of my current nickname to see if it contains a certain string (word/value) and if it does contain this specific string it will {halt}.

I don't have examples from everything I've tried since it's been hours, but I have the last one I attempted to use:
Code:
/alias afk {
  /var %anck1 = [AFK]
  /var %anck2 = $me
  if ($regex($me,^(/[AFK/]))) { halt }
  else { nick $+(%anck1,%anck2) }
}

For the above snippet I also attempted replacing $me with the second /var I created and also a bucket of other expressions in my dire attempt to make thing baby work.

I think you see what I'm going for here and I'm sure I'll get a lot of criticism for thinking I could make it this simple, but I want to check if I'm already "AFK"-tagged in my nick. If I am, it shall NOT apply [AFK] in front of my nick (It will simply duplicate). If it isn't it WILL add [AFK] to my nick.

#
To make matters worse, I would also need to check-if and then also potentially remove the [AFK] value in my nickname when doing:
alias BACK {
}

Thank you for your time!

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
There really isn't any need to use regex here unless you might have some other format for [AFK]. Otherwise, just use this:

Code:
alias afk {
  if ([AFK] !isin $me) { nick [AFK] $+ $me }
}
alias back {