mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Notify List - Cannot add same nick to 2 servers #231142 05/04/11 04:25 AM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
C
cage Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
C
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Hi,

I seem to have an issue adding the same nick to two different servers in the notify list. The second entry will simply overwrite the previous entry.

Here are my steps:

Open notify list
Right click -> Options
Add
Nickname: USER1
Network Name: SERVER1
OK

repeat using Nickname: USER1 and Network Name: SERVER2

Result is only one entry (should have two); that being the second entry.

Is there a way to do this or is this a bug? You should be able to have the same user notified across different servers.


Re: Notify List - Cannot add same nick to 2 servers [Re: cage] #231145 05/04/11 01:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
One option is to not worry about the network association.
The easiest way to do this, imo, is to use the /notify command
Code:
/notify USER1

Re: Notify List - Cannot add same nick to 2 servers [Re: cage] #231146 05/04/11 02:05 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,010
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,010

The first is being overwritten because you just need to add SERVER2 to the existing entry for USER1. It's just multiple networks or servers for the same nick.

Add (or Edit)
Nickname: USER1
Network Name: SERVER1, SERVER2, SERVER3
OK

~ Edit ~
It (mIRC) probably should confirm the overwrite though.


Re: Notify List - Cannot add same nick to 2 servers [Re: RoCk] #231148 05/04/11 06:42 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
C
cage Offline OP
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
C
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 3
Thanks for the tip RoCk. I didn't know that the network name field accepted multiple arguments. The notify is now working as I hoped.