mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
P
paszo Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Hallo,

When I run a sample channel and then open another channel from favourites (on another server) than my current connection closes. It seems that MIRC cannot be connected to two different servers at one time.

I would like to set up MIRC that the new connection would be opened in new window if necessary during joining a new channel from favourites (if the new channel is on another server).

I am using MIRC 6.35

How to set it up?

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
While mIRC can easily be setup to work with multiple connections, I'm unable to find a way to have it do so from the Favorites menu.

Normally for multiple connections you do the first connection with something like
Code:
on *:start:{
  .server irc.network_1.com
  .server -m irc.network_2.com
  .server -m irc.network_3.com
  .server -m irc.network_4.com
}

Basically the first connection is done with /server, then each sub-sequent connection with /server -m

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
As mentioned, Favorites is really just to let you join the channel when you're connected to that network. If you choose something from Favorites for the network you're already on, then it will join that channel without reconnecting. But when you try joining a channel on another network, it will connect to that network.

You can manually connect to a second, third, etc network first and then use favorites to join the right channel (or auto-join). /server -m irc.network.net will connect to a new network without disconnecting your current one. Repeat for as many networks as you like. This can either be done manually or by using a script as was shown by RussellB.

That being said, it would probably be a good feature suggestion to include some form of create new connection option if not connected to that network in the Favorites. I'm sure a lot of people could use that kind of feature. I'm a little surprised it isn't already there.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
In addition, for a handy key combination (and some random thoughts on the matter) read this old thread.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Nice find on that thread, Horstl.

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
P
paszo Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
where should I put this code ?

on *:start:{
.server irc.network_1.com
.server -m irc.network_2.com
.server -m irc.network_3.com
.server -m irc.network_4.com
}

Last edited by paszo; 15/03/11 05:16 PM.
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 81
T
TRT Offline
Babel fish
Offline
Babel fish
T
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 81
Remote section of scripts editor (to understand the code refer to the help file)

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
P
paszo Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
thank you

It works.

Now I would like to modify the script to log in after connection to the first server with command :

/msg NickServ identify <password>

but no idea how to write it with the script.


Could you help?


Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Add the following to my previous code
Code:
on *:notice:*nick* is registered*:*:{
  if ($nick == nickserv) {
    if ($network == network1) .msg nickserv identify <password>
  }
}

Replace network1 with the network name and <password> with your password for that network.

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
P
paszo Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
Thank you for your answer.
(I have a little break using mirc and now come back to meet this problem again)

I changed the network1 with the name of the server in format xxx.xxxxxx.xxx and <password> with my password but this command still does not work smirk

I got the message : -NickServ- This nickname is registered. Please choose a different nickname, or identify via /msg NickServ identify <password>.

What might be wrong?

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
P
paszo Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
P
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 5
I just found this works :


on *:start:{
.server irc.network_1.com :nickname password
.server -m irc.network_2.com
.server -m irc.network_3.com
.server -m irc.network_4.com
}

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
In response to your question about replacing network1, $network is the network name, not the server. It would be something like Undernet instead of Budapest.Hu.Eu.Undernet.org. If you want the server, use $server instead of $network. However, your login is the same regardless of server, so it's better to use $network.

But, yes, you can use the on start event to do what you want.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net

Link Copied to Clipboard