mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
/filter output help #22931 07/05/03 08:07 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
The -i switch indicates that you have provided a [dialog id] custom dialog control as the input.
The -o switch indicates that you have provided a [dialog id] custom dialog control as the output.

ok how in the world do u do this.....i need to specify an output from a line in a text file & i'm using /filter cuz it sorts & way faster

example:
just some text here

i need only:
just some

Re: /filter output help #22932 07/05/03 08:13 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
u cannot do that with /filter.
use a loop and in the loop u can use $gettok or whatever u want.

Re: /filter output help #22933 07/05/03 08:17 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
if u cant then y does the help file that comes with mirc say u can?

straight outta the mirc.hlp type /help /filter & u'll see it

The -o switch indicates that you have provided a [dialog id] custom dialog control as the output.


Re: /filter output help #22934 07/05/03 08:24 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
well, -o makes the output be a DIALOG
dialog != part of the text when filtering
if u don't know what dialog is /help dialogs

Re: /filter output help #22935 07/05/03 08:26 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
ummmm....yes i know what a dialog is.......but u would still have to be able to control the output to the dialog too

Re: /filter output help #22936 07/05/03 08:28 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
excuse me lemme re-phrase that....u need the dialog to control the output...so now i would i go bout doing that

Re: /filter output help #22937 07/05/03 08:38 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
output means the window/filename u filtering TO
input means the window/filename u filtering FROM


Re: /filter output help #22938 07/05/03 08:40 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
yes so the dialog controls the output.....once u pass the filtered text through it

Re: /filter output help #22939 07/05/03 08:49 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
it means u will filter the lines into the dialog list/combo/edit whatever u spcified and that dialog will be the OUTPUT window, when u filter u can use MATCH TEXT that will filter only the lines that matches it for example, but u can't filter a part from the line. that's why u need to use a loop.


Re: /filter output help #22940 07/05/03 08:52 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
ok then lets see if u have a 5000 line file that takes how long.....since i already know that 1761 line takes bout 2 mins.....then if u cant use the dialog to get part of the line then whats the purpose of the dialog....nuthing.....

Re: /filter output help #22941 07/05/03 08:56 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
hehe, the -o switch is if u want to filter to the dialog
maybe u made a dialog and u want to add to the list of the dialog the lines of this file so u can use this switch to do that

Re: /filter output help #22942 07/05/03 08:57 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
no....i need to know how to pass the filtered text the dialog...think i said that once already....so once again i'll ask....how do u do that???

Re: /filter output help #22943 07/05/03 09:05 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
sigh.
i don't understand what do u want.

Re: /filter output help #22944 07/05/03 09:07 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
thats obvious.....i do NOT understand how to setup the dialog
as is whats the correct syntax 4 the /filter
&
the syntax of the dialog

Re: /filter output help #22945 07/05/03 09:11 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
so why don't u say so.
i thought u wanted to filter a part from the lines.
so if u want to filter from text to a dialog u do:
/filter -fo FILE.TXT DNAME ID


Re: /filter output help #22946 07/05/03 09:14 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
R
r3dDrag0n Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
R
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 10
how bout a sample of the dialog please....thats major part i dont understand

Re: /filter output help #22947 07/05/03 09:28 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
S
ScatMan Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 730
just an example:
dialog name {
size -1 -1 160 160
option dbu
button "Ok",1, 140 150 20 10,ok
list 2, 1 1 100 100
}
u put that in the remote.
then, u want to load the file.txt into the list of that id,
u open the dialog with /dialog -m name name
and then type /filter -fo file.txt name 2
that's it.