mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
bug related to /timers #229031 19/01/11 05:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
F
FIQ Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
F
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Hi.
Just tried to stop some timers I've started (using "/timers off"), but there was one problem. They just didn't stop.

After some investigation, I found the reason. The multi-server function of the command doesn't seem to work properly. If i just do "/timers", I see all timers, on every server, but I can't stop timers started from other networks.

And also, note that /timers isn't an index of the help file (/help /timers), but it is documented in /timer.

/FIQ

Re: bug related to /timers [Re: FIQ] #229033 19/01/11 06:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
5618 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
I think this falls under the header Undocumented Behaviour.
How would you stop timers for only the active server if it did stop timers globally?
You should probably use: /scon -a timers off

Re: bug related to /timers [Re: FIQ] #229035 19/01/11 07:11 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 546
J
jaytea Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
J
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 546
you can also use /timer* off to stop all timers across all networks.


"The only excuse for making a useless script is that one admires it intensely" - Oscar Wilde
Re: bug related to /timers [Re: FIQ] #229041 19/01/11 09:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Although not really documented very well, /timers is for the active connection, so /timers off is going to only affect the active connection. I'd use the /timer* off method that was suggested as that's a good way to cover everything. In case you are wondering why that's not documented, it kind of is... /timertest off will turn off a timer with the name of test. Because * is a wildcard meaning everything, /timer* off would turn everything off.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: bug related to /timers [Re: Riamus2] #229390 02/02/11 07:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
F
FIQ Offline OP
Bowl of petunias
OP Offline
Bowl of petunias
F
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
That might be true. Still, /timers isn't completly server-specific - if you use /timers w/o parameters, it will display timers on all networks. That was why i though it was supposed to stop all timers _in all networks_. But yeah, i know /timer* does the same thing. smile

Re: bug related to /timers [Re: FIQ] #229395 02/02/11 09:27 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
You're right. I'm not sure why I was thinking /timers was network specific. Sorry for the confusion.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: bug related to /timers [Re: Riamus2] #229606 11/02/11 01:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
T
The_JD Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
T
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 393
Originally Posted By: Riamus2
You're right. I'm not sure why I was thinking /timers was network specific. Sorry for the confusion.


Probably because when you activate a timer, it attaches to that server (window) by default.


[02:16] * Titanic has quit IRC (Excess Flood)
Re: bug related to /timers [Re: The_JD] #229644 12/02/11 11:54 AM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 45
B
BenderUnit Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
B
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 45
Originally Posted By: FIQ
if you use /timers w/o parameters, it will display timers on all networks.
Originally Posted By: Riamus2
You're right. I'm not sure why I was thinking /timers was network specific. Sorry for the confusion.
That's weird, when I do /timers it does NOT list all the timers of all networks, nor does /timer* do that. So the /timers listing IS (for me) still network specific.

Originally Posted By: The_JD
Probably because when you activate a timer, it attaches to that server (window) by default.
That, I can confirm.