mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
UPnP support for DCC #225337 30/08/10 09:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
S
SGR Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
S
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
A lot of us are behind NATing routers which causes DCC connections to not function. As I understand it, UPnP support should resolve this.

Re: UPnP support for DCC [Re: SGR] #225340 30/08/10 10:18 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 862
Sat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 862
And it does indeed. What is your feature suggestion?


Saturn, QuakeNet staff
Re: UPnP support for DCC [Re: SGR] #225342 31/08/10 01:21 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 344
D
drum Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 344
Originally Posted By: SGR
A lot of us are behind NATing routers which causes DCC connections to not function. As I understand it, UPnP support should resolve this.


As Sat mentioned, this is already implemented. If it is not working for you, go to mIRC options > Connect > Options, click on the "Ports..." button and make sure "DCC connections" is checked under the "UPnP support" section (middle section).

Also note that UPnP will only help in sending files. If you are having problems establishing a connection when receiving a file, the sender may need to check his settings.

Re: UPnP support for DCC [Re: SGR] #225348 31/08/10 01:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025

Not all NAT routers cause DCC to fail, only misconfigured ones do.

Re: UPnP support for DCC [Re: RoCk] #225352 31/08/10 04:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Also, not all routers are set up to automatically handle upnp. You may have to make changes to the router's settings to get it to work and may even have to make changes in Windows depending on your current setup.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: UPnP support for DCC [Re: RoCk] #225374 31/08/10 09:23 PM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 134
T
Thels Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
T
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 134
Originally Posted By: RoCk
Not all NAT routers cause DCC to fail, only misconfigured ones do.


That makes it sound like the average NAT router with default settings will work, which is not true. Unless UPnP is enabled and working correctly, a router that is on it's default settings will not allow you to host DCC connections.

For DCC to work with you as the host, you have to forward a port to your own computer.


Learning something new every day.
Re: UPnP support for DCC [Re: Thels] #225384 01/09/10 03:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,025

Yep I do know how routers work.

Re: UPnP support for DCC [Re: Sat] #225753 08/09/10 09:41 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
S
SGR Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
S
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 20
My bad. I Didn't see the options there - I'd been looking under the DCC options not "Connect" ones.

Didn't think to check the Help file :$