mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
[7.04] Clickable URL Area #222277 15/06/10 03:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
D
DeathWolf Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
When scrolling back up in the buffer, quite often I see this condition where when hovering over a link it is not click-able, but with a click-able area one line down.(often in the middle of nowhere). This condition is usually fixed by scrolling up again, but can be quite surprising at first.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: DeathWolf] #222284 15/06/10 06:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
drum Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
I've experienced this as well, although I can't seem to reproduce it reliably. Just now I tried several times to cause it to happen again but it happened only once. In my case, the link itself is unclickable (and double-clicking in that area just opens the channel central window) but there is a clickable region exactly one line above (not below) the link, although that may just be because of the direction I was scrolling?

I just got it to happen again, this time the clickable area was TWO lines above the link.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: drum] #222285 15/06/10 06:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
drum Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
OK, I was able to reproduce it again, and this time I found out something interesting. It appears that the problem is actually not with the link -- it's with the displaying of the text itself. In other words, the clickable region is in the correct spot but all of the text is being shifted up or down by 1 or 2 lines compared to what it should be displaying.

For example, just now I experienced a URL where the clickable region was one line above the URL text. I then clicked once on the UP scroll arrow, which should advance the text downward by one line. However, the window text did not move when I did this, but now the URL text lines up correctly with the clickable region. If I keep pressing the UP arrow, it will work normally from then on.

Last edited by drum; 15/06/10 06:34 PM.
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: drum] #222291 15/06/10 10:00 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 800
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 800
I'm assuming you mean this? (Video related)

However, this isn't just limited to URLs. I tested it with joins, and the same issue also occurs.

URLs Joins


Amazingly, this stretches back to 6.35.


What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: Jigsy] #222293 16/06/10 12:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
drum Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Originally Posted By: Jigsy
I'm assuming you mean this? (Video related)


No, that is an unrelated issue.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: drum] #222294 16/06/10 12:10 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
I don't understand the problem too, could you precise what's the issues ?


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: Wims] #222295 16/06/10 12:28 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
drum Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/1561/19729867.png

The above is a cropped screenshot of mIRC, where I have added red and green outlines.

When the mouse hovers over the green area -- where the URL is displayed -- the mouse cursor does NOT change and clicking in this area does NOT launch the URL.

When the mouse hovers over the red outline, the mouse cursor changes to the usual "finger pointing" cursor and double-clicking on this region launches the URL.

You can move the mouse cursor around all you want, and the behavior remains until you scroll the window up or down, at which point it will correct itself. Right-clicking also seems to cause the window to fix (by shifting all text up one line).

It's just an issue with mIRC not redrawing the window correctly under some circumstances when scrolling. It only happens occasionally, but I've reproduced it at least 4 times today.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: drum] #222296 16/06/10 12:44 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
On which $os did you see this happening ? I'm using this feature a lot and never reproduce this on xp


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: drum] #222298 16/06/10 12:52 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
Are you talking about the cursor not resetting to the default cursor when you scroll (pgup,pgdown) when your mouse was originally hovering over a url?

If so, that happens in programs other than mIRC. For instance, my Chrome install also has this behaviour. Not saying it's not a bug, but it's fairly common.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: drum] #222299 16/06/10 12:54 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 800
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 800
You don't have a theme or anything do you?


What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: argv0] #222300 16/06/10 12:54 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,558
Nop, see jigsy's post


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: Jigsy] #222301 16/06/10 01:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
drum Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Let me make a few things clear:

This only happens occasionally when manually scrolling up in a window. I'm not talking about when someone speaks in a channel which causes all text to "scroll" upward. I'm talking about using the mouse wheel or scroll bar to scroll up in a window to view lines that are no longer visible in the window.

When the problem occurs, moving the mouse cursor does not change the behavior. I am well aware of the way mIRC does not update the mouse cursor until the cursor is moved even if the text below the mouse cursor changes due to scrolling. This is completely unrelated!

I do not modify mIRC's default channel output at all. I use only a very small amount of scripts that I myself wrote. Other than changing the font to Tahoma, you'll notice the screenshot I gave is standard mIRC output. I don't have any ON HOTLINK events. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: drum] #222543 23/06/10 02:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
D
DeathWolf Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
Confirming this again. Happens to me multiple times everyday.
Conditions to reproduce it so far:

-Must be scrolled up in the buffer.
-There must be a link in there.
-A line(a message if in a chan) must be added in the window.
-Links then do not appear as clickable.

To resolve: scroll up again and the links become clickable again

Possible other needed conditions:
-I think that everytime it happened I was hovering already another link(ie 2 links present in the buffer)

OS: Win7 x64, vanilla mirc

EDIT: oh and as drum said, moving the cursor is not enough. One must *scroll* to fix it.

EDIT2: it's also present in 7.05 btw

Last edited by DeathWolf; 23/06/10 02:50 AM.
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: DeathWolf] #222544 23/06/10 03:42 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 800
Jigsy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 800
I think this time I managed to reproduce what you were talking about in 6.35. (I forgot to load 7.05 :P)

This.


What do you do at the end of the world? Are you busy? Will you save us?
Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: Jigsy] #222546 23/06/10 04:42 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
drum Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Originally Posted By: Jigsy
I think this time I managed to reproduce what you were talking about in 6.35. (I forgot to load 7.05 :P)

This.


Haha, I appreciate the amount of effort you put into it by supplying a video, but this is not the bug either. Perhaps I will get around to making a video of my own if it is this difficult to understand what I am describing.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: DeathWolf] #222568 24/06/10 09:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
Thanks this issue should be fixed for the next version.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: Khaled] #222665 29/06/10 01:31 AM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
D
DeathWolf Offline OP
Vogon poet
OP Offline
Vogon poet
D
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 110
7.06 did not seem to fix the issue(I'm still getting it here)

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: DeathWolf] #222666 29/06/10 03:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
D
drum Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
D
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Originally Posted By: DeathWolf
7.06 did not seem to fix the issue(I'm still getting it here)


I still experience it as well.

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: DeathWolf] #222675 29/06/10 01:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
It looks like I fixed the issue that argv0 mentioned, which has been in mIRC for many versions.

I have been unable to reproduce the issue that you have described unfortunately. Was this issue present in mIRC v6.35 as well? Would you be able to find a step by step method of reproducing it? eg. perhaps creating a script that outputs lines (some of which are links) to a @window and then performing certain actions that cause the issue to happen?

Re: [7.04] Clickable URL Area [Re: DeathWolf] #222714 30/06/10 08:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,521
I may have found the cause of this issue - it is difficult to reproduce on demand - let's see if the next version resolves the issue for you.

Page 1 of 2 1 2