mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Riamus2 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
I have 3 scripts that use sockets. They work fine in 6.35, but in the beta, they fail between the sockopen event and the sockread event. I can see an echo at the end of the sockopen event, so it's completing, and $sockerr there shows 0, so there's no socket error there. However, I can't get an echo from the very first line of the sockread event, so it's not triggering that event for some reason.

Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
D
Pan-dimensional mouse
Pan-dimensional mouse
D
My socket scripts are working fine.

W
Babel fish
Babel fish
W
Sockets work fine here. This might be a firewall issue for you, did you check your firewall?

Can you provide an example script?

Riamus2 Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
I've been helping people with firewall issues for many years... it's not a firewall issue. The scripts work just fine in 6.35, so it's a change in 7.0 beta and all my scripts are available from www.kakkoiitranslations.net/mircscripts/ . The weather, dictionary, or bible scripts are all socket scripts. Also, I'm not the only one with issues using the scripts in beta.

Invision Support
Fjord artisan
Fjord artisan
I am one of the people who reported this issue to Ram...

It is NOT a firewall issue, if it were, it would not work on 6.35 and NOT on 7.0 when both are running (at the same time) from the same machine. There is some issue in this area, and I think we need to let K. look at this to determine what the issue is... I am on XP and other are on windows 7 so it does not seem to be an os related issue either..

Hope this helps to track it down.

Help others! It makes the world a better place, Makes you feel good, and makes you Healthy!
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood