mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
I'd like to give chosen nicks signs like a "=>" for friends etc.
Is this possible?

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
It is far easier to just color the nicks that are friends. If you're talking about just adding a character in front of nicks in the channel/query, that can be done in the same manner as people who want to change the brackets around a nick. That's been shown various times in the forum, including once recently (see argv0's post in that link). If you mean to edit the nicks in the nick list, then you'd have to use a DLL. nicklust.dll might offer that abilitiy. I have never used it, but it's used to edit the nick list and might be able to do that.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
Yes, that's what I mean.

I want to add a character in front of chosen nicks, not all nicks.

That couldn't be that hard to do, or?

Can you link me to a tutorial or something?

Thanks for the answer.

Last edited by bwuser; 23/03/10 08:10 PM.
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Well, like I said, the link shows the basic idea of how to do it if you want that to appear in the channel/query window. I'll just copy that here and show an edited version of it..

Code:
ON ^*:TEXT:*:*:{ 
  if ($nick == NICK1 || $nick == NICK2 || $nick == NICK3) { echo -tml $iif(#,#,$nick) >= < $+ $nick $+ > $1- }
  haltdef
}


Replace the NICK1, NICK2, NICK3 with the nick(s) that you want to all have the same character(s). Add more or less nicks as needed. That shows how it would look for 3. Then, change the >= characters to whatever you want them to be and add any colors/etc that you might want. Note that you can put them inside the <>'s as well (It would look like <>= $+ $nick $+ >). If you leave it as-is, you'd see:

>= <NICK1> Hello

On the otherhand, if you want it to appear in the nicklist (you didn't say one way or the other), you'd have to use a DLL as I mentioned. You can look up nicklust.dll on google and I'm sure there are forums for that DLL that will be able to teach you how to set it up. The nicklist can't be changed in that way using just a normal script without making use of a DLL.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
That's it, thank you very much.

I'd be very thankful if you tell me where to paste the code.

I have 5 tabs in the scripts editor, am bit confused now.

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
C
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
C
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
i prefer to use $istok
Code:
on ^*:text:*:*:{
  if ($istok(NICK1.NICK2.NICK3,$nick,46)) echo -tml $iif(#,#,$nick) >= $+(<,$nick,>) $1-
  haltdef
}

and you put it into remote Alt+R


WorldDMT
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,330
Yeah, $istok's better. Didn't think of it at the time.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
Thanks guys, that's exactly what I needed.


Link Copied to Clipboard