Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
K
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
K
hi every one ^__^

I have to apologize if I am posting this in the wrong forum but I wasn't sure where the topic of my problem can be fitted. hope you forgive me and bear with me.

my problem regarding IRC may looks kind of lame blush since I am a total newbie regarding this software, but please help me if you can! *bows*

My OS is windows XP professional x64 edition and my mIRC is v6.21. a few days ago while I was looking around my IRC menus, I checked the script editor section out of curiosity ( since I don't know any thing about scripts or how to write or use those but I had heard so much about how much those can be useful and etc).
during searching around it I am afraid that I might have deleted/changed some words or symbols accidentally in my Script editor/Remote section. eek
you can imagine how much I was scared when I realized all kind of hackers, trojans and viruses can find their way to my PC through this stupid mistake! cry
Now I would like to know, if I uninstall my current mIRC and install the latest version later, could it fix this security problem? can I use my IRC later without being worried about security problems regarding remote script?

and if it is possible I wish to know when scripts like Remote do start to perform their actions? since I have heard those are Event handlers and just meant to respond when you request or perform a command.

P.S: later I connected through mIRC for a few minutes without joining any channel or accepting any DCC chat or get file request. is it possible the remote script has been activated during this time and probably sending virus or letting any hacker to take control over my PC?

thanks so much for your time and attention in advance!

Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood