mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 236
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 236
it can be far simpler than that, even.
You only need to do these once for your nickname:
1. /ns access add *@*
2. /alias slashnet server irc.slashnet.org 6667 your_ns_password -i your_nickname[/code]

3. Insert the following code into your remotes:
Code:
on 1:connect: {
  if ($network == [b]SlashNet[/b]) {
    join #channel1,#channel2
    mode #channel1 +abc123
  }
}


4. Type /slashnet smile

Keep in mind this may not work on some networks, but it does work on slashnet and freenode as well as most other networks that have nickserv.

Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 236
S
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
S
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 236
Quote:
If the mode(s) that you are applying are not being kept, try checking with chanserv to see what (if any) modes are locked using mlock.
If the mode(s) that you are trying to set are being countered by chanserv's mlock, then you need to find out who has access to change the mlock options on chanserv for the channel in question.

That's the only thing I can think of that would keep the code you posted from working.


Most servers are running separate from services, so any command you type to services needs to be forwarded on by the server. This leads to an increased latency for messages bound to the services. If you consider this, then no, that code wouldn't work. Unless you define a working solution as one that works only when the conditions are in your favour (which certainly isn't my case).

Last edited by s00p; 26/06/09 08:31 AM.
s00p #213399 26/06/09 01:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
Your mode change works in the connect event? You aren't in the room yet. You may want to put the mode command in a join event.

on me:*:join:#:mode # +abc123

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
B
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
After some digging around in the help file I came up with this for setting the channel modes. It's working fine. Same thing you have DJ Sol just coded slightly different.

Code:
on *:join:#testchannel:/mode #testchannel +slk 50 xyz123

Last edited by BlackAcidDevil; 27/06/09 01:42 AM.
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Using your code, the modes would be set every time someone entered the room, rather than when you entered.

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
B
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
So it should be "on me", like DJ Sol pointed out?

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,149
W
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,149
Yes smile


#mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net == the best mIRC help channel
Wims #213427 27/06/09 04:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
B
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
B
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 18
Ok, Thanks.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
The thing about the join even though is that it is before you are given op status so you can't really check if you are op or not. When I join a room I have a 2 or 3 second timer that triggers an alias "op_check" which is where I store different commands I may want to implement if I am joining a channel as op.

Also, there is no need to double check a mode before making a mode change. There will be no error.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
This is the reason I used the ON OP event in my original coded response to this topic.

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
Quite right. In my connection, Owner and Op events point to the same alias.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Knew I had to be right about something, eventually... laugh

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard