mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Connection Problem #21010 26/04/03 05:58 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
G
GreySkyMan Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Before I get a million replies saying go Here or go Here - I've been there. Nothing is working. My problem is that I'm either getting Unable to connect "(Connection refused)" Or when I change the firewall support, I get Firewall: Unable to find firewall address. I've opened the ports on my router. Nothing. I can't connect to mIRC, MSN, etc. on the computer directly connected to my router, but can on any other computer in the house. Any suggestions?

Re: Connection Problem #21011 26/04/03 06:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
P
Poppy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
You didn't go here though. grin


Never compare yourself to others - they're more screwed up than you think.
Re: Connection Problem #21012 26/04/03 06:04 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
ok u dont need to enable firewall support ...... just disable it entirely and set it to NONE u have to do this manually with the keyboard arrow keys ...... secondly since uve read all of those and tried all of those things ...... have u also checked that u dont have something like zonealarm blocking your outgoing access 0f the internet using mirc? ...... thats just another possibility


D3m0nnet.com
Re: Connection Problem #21013 26/04/03 06:15 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
G
GreySkyMan Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Actually Poppy - I did. Just didn't feel like posting it. smirk I've tried setting it to 'None', that never worked either. I don't think I have ZoneAlarm - at least not that I know of. When I tried opening the ports, I did 6660 - 6669 as the ext. ports, checked protocol tcp, protocol udp, and checked enable. And nothing, still can't connect.

Another thign I've noticed, is that on some websites I can see things such as bullets, and certain pictures.

Last edited by GreySkyMan; 26/04/03 06:22 PM.
Re: Connection Problem #21014 26/04/03 08:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
u didnt accidentally set something in your router to block certain access to that specific machine did u? again just a thought but it might be worth while also check that out ...
also is there any way u can go around your router by directly connecting to the cable modem or dsl line coming in to test that its not a router setting and limit it to a pc setting?? that also might help alil


D3m0nnet.com
Re: Connection Problem #21015 26/04/03 10:42 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
G
GreySkyMan Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
I don't think I set anything in my router to block things. How could I check? Oh and by the way, when I directly connected to the modem, I still had the same problem so it's something with my pc. My ISP perhaps? How can I fix it?

Re: Connection Problem #21016 26/04/03 11:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
if all the other pcs in your house can connect then it wouldnt be an isp problem it would be your pc settup problem ... if you dont have any program like zonealarm then im actually confussed as to what could stop this ..... if bypassing your router didnt resolve this then there is no need to check that u accidentally blocked access. i wish there was something else i could suggest , but i cant think of anything else


D3m0nnet.com
Re: Connection Problem #21017 27/04/03 12:11 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
G
GreySkyMan Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Hmmmm, thanks for your help though. :tongue: Although I'm pretty sure it's a pc problem, because it's the only one having problems, and even when it was directly connected to the modem it didn't even work. Damn. mad

Re: Connection Problem #21018 27/04/03 01:48 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
were u able to access the internet at all? i mean another possibility is hardware problems


D3m0nnet.com
Re: Connection Problem #21019 27/04/03 02:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
G
GreySkyMan Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Oh, no, I can go on the internet. I can go on AIM too. I can't direct connect on AIM however, can't connect to msn sites or msn messenger, can't go on certain programs like The All Seeing Eye, and can't connect to mIRC.

Re: Connection Problem #21020 27/04/03 02:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
_
_D3m0n_ Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
_
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,527
does the browser on that pc work or is that what ur posting with now?


D3m0nnet.com
Re: Connection Problem #21021 27/04/03 08:53 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
have you tried connecting to both the ip and domain? like:
/server b0rk.uk.quakenet.org
/server 213.221.165.248

you can connect to some things, but not to others...long shot, but any chance there is some kind of "parental control" thingie on that one puter?

its the gateway puter you are having the prob on, correct?


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Connection Problem #21022 27/04/03 05:13 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
G
GreySkyMan Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Tried connecting to both, the IP and the Doman, neither worked, and yes its the gateway computer, comp directly connected to router. Parental Controls in the router settings, or parental controls in just the computer?

Re: Connection Problem #21023 27/04/03 08:59 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
K
KsKing Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
K
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1
When I was using dial up connection MIRC worked fine but today I tried to connect using BroadBand line but I was unable to connect. What should I do ?

Re: Connection Problem #21024 28/04/03 12:14 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
P
ParaBrat Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
since it lets you connect to some things and not others, it sounds like those things are being blocked, firewall (including the one in xp)/router and some kind of parental control settings on your puter are all possibilities.

did you try manually putting your external ip into file/options/local info?


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Connection Problem #21025 28/04/03 08:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
G
GreySkyMan Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
G
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
What's in my local info is my "Name Adress". Which on my computer that mIRC works on changes to my name.