mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20990 26/04/03 05:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 63
N
NiCk2 Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
N
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 63
Hi, I'm redoing the mIRC Channel Dialog taking out what I think is unecessary and adding what is (not using dlls). I am encountering various problems with the topic and more...
Topic problems :
For the topic there doesn't seem to be an identifier which returns the name of the person having put the topic. There's only $chan(#ChanName).topic which returns the topic. Same for the time at which it was put. Also I can't quite figure out what is .wid and .hwnd ! And mIRC remembers the past topics of a channel.
The basic Channel Dialog keeps track of these things, how come we can't access them ? It seems as if I am going to have to make my own record for each server & channels associated.
Last but not least concerning the topic part in the Channel Dialog of mIRC, one can put nothing as a topic. But manually it doesn't seem to be possible, /topic #Chan won't work. Is it possible in an other way ?
List bans problem :
In the mIRC Channel Dialog, bans are shown with the time and the op who has put it. They all show up on the same line in the list. How can I get my own channel dialog to do the same thing, that is to say to have them lined up nicely ? (don't get me wrong, I know how to retrieve the info, I'm just having problems lining it up nicely like in mIRC).

Well, that's enough for now, lol. Thank you in advance for any help, advice or solution you may give me smile

Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20991 26/04/03 06:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
C
codemastr Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,809
Code:
ON *:TOPIC:*:{
   set %topic. $+ $chan $+ .setby $nick
   set %topic. $+ $chan $+ .setat $ctime
}

raw 333:*:{
   set %topic. $+ $2 $+ .setby $3
   set %topic. $+ $2 $+ .setat $4
}



Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20992 27/04/03 12:21 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
KingTomato Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,012
As codemaster pinted out, thats to get topic "whos" but as for lining up the bans--good luck. I personally use mdx dll and have headers at the top. Workd fine, and looks very well made if I do say so myself. You may want to give in tot he "no dll rule". confused just a thought. grin


-KingTomato
Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20993 27/04/03 02:44 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 63
N
NiCk2 Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
N
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 63
Well, it's not realy a rule, having rules just for the sake of having them isn't my thing. I just find them a bit to complicated to use. Also, a lot of scripts using dlls include features which are unecessary such as an internet explorer or agendas etc. I have a script to finish and it would be a waste of time trying to learn how to use dlls for just one thing, I don't think dlls can retrieve the past topics of a channel just like that shocked
However, if you can teach me how to use dlls easily, I would be greatful grin

Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20994 27/04/03 03:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
Watchdog Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,985
In the mIRC Channel Dialog, bans are shown with the time and the op who has put it. They all show up on the same line in the list. How can I get my own channel dialog to do the same thing, that is to say to have them lined up nicely ?

I've done the same thing and made my own channel central and I have been playing with margins and tabs for Christ knows how long (a few years now) and still haven't managed to work it out. If you do get an answer, any chance you could post it here?

Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20995 28/04/03 12:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 699
N
Nimue Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 699
"Last but not least concerning the topic part in the Channel Dialog of mIRC, one can put nothing as a topic. But manually it doesn't seem to be possible, /topic #Chan won't work. Is it possible in an other way ?"
Code:
/.raw topic # :

Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20996 07/05/03 01:29 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
i actually have a null topic detector which is as follows:
on ^*:TOPIC:#:{
if (!$1) {
msg # $nick nulled the topic
}
}


new username: tidy_trax
Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20997 07/05/03 07:15 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 699
N
Nimue Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
N
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 699
1. Nobody asked for that.
2. That code will fail if someone changed the topic to "0" or "$false"

Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20998 07/05/03 07:26 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
no it wouldnt


new username: tidy_trax
Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #20999 07/05/03 07:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Actually it would fail, but since all you seem to do is rip other peoples scripts and spam to get your post count up, it really isn't suprising that you didn't know that.

[20:32:13] * Winston changes topic to '0'
[20:32:14] <Collective> Winston nulled the topic
[20:32:18] * Winston changes topic to '$false'
[20:32:18] <Collective> Winston nulled the topic

Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #21000 07/05/03 08:20 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
since when did i rip anything?


new username: tidy_trax
Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #21001 07/05/03 08:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138

Re: Redoing a Channel Dialog... #21002 07/05/03 08:29 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
P
pheonix Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,265
as i said in there i pasted the wrong 1 out of my connection as i use exonytes but i echo thanks for that in my version reply but i also use my own to make the ones exonyte missed out


new username: tidy_trax