mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Can't run mirc #209120 04/02/09 05:58 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
S
spermis Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
S
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Hello.
Somehow I cant run my mirc anymore. I'm using v6.35, but I tried to do that with other version (v6.21) too.
When i double-click mirc.exe, it just doesnt do anything. I checked on Task Manger processes tab, if it is running, but it doesnt. So, could anyone help me?
btw. Im running Windows XP Professional, Service Pack2

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: spermis] #209121 04/02/09 06:01 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 234
M
MTec007 Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 234
have you tried a fresh installation?

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: MTec007] #209122 04/02/09 06:08 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
S
spermis Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
S
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Yeah also did try that..

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: spermis] #209123 04/02/09 06:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
S
starbucks_mafia Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
S
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,962
Did you rename mirc.exe? mIRC has an internal check that stops the program running if the filename doesn't start with "mirc".

If you've applied any 'cracks' to mIRC these could easily have broken the file and prevent it from running.

The other option I can think of is any anti-virus software you're running may be preventing mIRC from running thinking it's malicious software. Even if mIRC worked one day and not the next this still might be the cause since many AV programs update their heuristics (how they determine what's danagerous and what's not) automatically and without notifying you. You should try disabling your AV software and see if mIRC runs.


Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
Re: Can't run mirc [Re: starbucks_mafia] #209167 05/02/09 01:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
S
spermis Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
S
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 91
Originally Posted By: starbucks_mafia
Did you rename mirc.exe? mIRC has an internal check that stops the program running if the filename doesn't start with "mirc".

No I havent.
Originally Posted By: starbucks_mafia

If you've applied any 'cracks' to mIRC these could easily have broken the file and prevent it from running.

No i havent.
Originally Posted By: starbucks_mafia

The other option I can think of is any anti-virus software you're running may be preventing mIRC from running thinking it's malicious software. Even if mIRC worked one day and not the next this still might be the cause since many AV programs update their heuristics (how they determine what's danagerous and what's not) automatically and without notifying you. You should try disabling your AV software and see if mIRC runs.

I just tried disabling my AV software and also putting it in "Exceptions" list, but It didnt work anyways. frown

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: spermis] #209978 28/02/09 07:41 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
M
MrWoody Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
M
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
I have the SAME Exact PC configuration and the SAME Exact problem.

I have tried all the above solutions and still doesn't work.

Any Help would be appreciated

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: MrWoody] #210052 02/03/09 11:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
I also have winXP pro SP2 and have no such problem... I don't think that is the reason what is causing the problem but it's probably something else.

try this: copy the mIRC.exe to a random different directory. create a clean text file called mirc.ini in the same directory. now double click the mirc.exe

does it still not start?

now try repeating this without any AV or anti-anything programs running.


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: Can't run mirc [Re: Doqnach] #210313 11/03/09 11:46 AM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
B
berkut Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
B
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Guys i need your help on this one, i have the very same configuration (windows xp SP2) and the exact same problem, my mirc don't run. I tried all the things you said here in this topic but i still have that problem.
Someone can help me with this??

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: berkut] #210366 13/03/09 09:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
D
Darko_ Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
D
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
I have same conf,and same problem,it just won't start..It isnt AV/firewall/cracks problem..I don't know what is it ;/

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: Darko_] #210367 13/03/09 09:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
C
Collective Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,138
Go to jotti's malware scan and upload mirc.exe from your installation directory (not the installer). Does it detect any viruses? What MD5 does it give for the file?

Re: Can't run mirc [Re: Collective] #210379 13/03/09 08:53 PM
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
B
berkut Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
B
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
yes, it detected a malware in the .exe file.
the md5 gives this: f49e8ba67d1dc2b54a30f871dcefa648

thnx for the tip wink