mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Strip colors in a single channel? #206321 12/11/08 07:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
S
supermale Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
S
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Is there a remote (or something else) that would enable me to strip colors in a single channel, or from a single user? In one channel, a bot spams in white text, which I can't see with my white background. I don't mind colors elsewhere, so I'd rather not strip them globally.

Possible?

Re: Strip colors in a single channel? [Re: supermale] #206328 12/11/08 10:34 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
H
Horstl Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,559
A script is possible, but may cause conflicts with other scripts e.g. "themes".

If it's only one user/bot here and there, I suggest using the ignorelist instead: the item "[control] codes" allows you to "strip" (ignore) all control codes (colors, underline etc) of a specific usermask - try: /ignore -k NickOfTheBot
Alternatively, you can access the ignorelist in mIRCs address book (Alt-B), at "control" select "ignore", click "add", put a usermask like Botsnick!*@* and in the "ignore options", check the "control" box.

Re: Strip colors in a single channel? [Re: supermale] #206329 12/11/08 10:54 PM
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
D
DJ_Sol Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,156
Sounds to me like a theme.

A theme uses a text event and echo;s the text on your screen how you want it and halts mIRC from showing its normal message and duplicating it.

So they use ...


on ^*:text:*:#:{
echo -t $chan $nick : $1-
haltdef
}


So make the # the channel name and it will only perform in that channel. And yes, it could conflict with another theme you may have. You could make sure the script file is first in the list to help that.

Re: Strip colors in a single channel? [Re: supermale] #206336 13/11/08 12:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
S
supermale Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
S
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 12
Horstl: I never considered the ignore list, and your suggestion worked famously. Thanks!

DJ_Sol: For whatever reason, the echo still contained the codes/colors when I used your script. Weird.

Thank you both for your help!

Re: Strip colors in a single channel? [Re: supermale] #206338 13/11/08 01:21 AM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 43
Z
zantetsuken Offline
Ameglian cow
Offline
Ameglian cow
Z
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 43
lol did you add $strip to it?