mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Topic Options
#204198 - 11/09/08 03:09 PM Keep mIRC in one place
Jitaki Offline
Mostly harmless

Registered: 11/09/08
Posts: 1
I no longer want to have mIRC install any files/folders on my C: drive during installation. I dont want scripts, downloads, logs, or anything going anywhere other then into my mIRC folder. (Just like previous versions)

Recent format of C:, reinstalled XP - lost a lot.

I know, I should have backed it up if I wanted to keep it, but after years of doing this, for some reason, backing up mIRC which I had on E:, did not even cross my mind.

Just... put it all back into one main folder please =)

Top
#204199 - 11/09/08 03:14 PM Re: Keep mIRC in one place [Re: Jitaki]
genius_at_work Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 08/10/05
Posts: 1741
Copy the mIRC.ini file to the directory where mIRC.exe is. When you run mIRC, it will use that directory as a base instead of the roaming folder. You will have to move your script files accordingly.

-genius_at_work

Top
#204200 - 11/09/08 04:03 PM Re: Keep mIRC in one place [Re: Jitaki]
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 15/06/03
Posts: 994
Call me old-fashioned, ignorant, a redneck, or whatever .. I am still using the same mirc folder (E:\mIRC\) that I used when I installed 5.7. When I download/install a new mirc, I let it install to the default directories, and COPY the files I need to my working folder, renaming the .exe to (for example) mirc634.exe and making a shortcut for that to use for running mirc.
This serves 3 purposes.

1. I get the update I wanted
2. I don't lose my previous executable in case some of my scripts break.
3. I don't have to hunt for (or worry about) my scripts (they're in E:\mIRC\myscripts\)

I've been told several times by several people that this is insane, but .. it works for me, and it's MY computer grin

PS this works in Vista, as well as XP and 2000


Edited by CtrlAltDel (11/09/08 04:05 PM)
_________________________
I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink

Top
#204201 - 11/09/08 04:23 PM Re: Keep mIRC in one place [Re: CtrlAltDel]
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood

Registered: 16/12/02
Posts: 2009

I don't see anything insane about it at all.

A few days ago, someone here actually made a good suggestion of installing mIRC to the My Documents folder. Create a folder inside of My Documents and name it mIRC (or whatever name you want), then create a txt file inside this new folder and name it mirc.ini and then install mIRC to this location. During installation, mIRC will find the new mirc.ini file and use this new folder for settings and storage instead of AppData. The OP could do the same on E: by creating a folder named E:\mIRC and then create a new txt file and name it E:\mIRC\mirc.ini and then install mIRC to this location.

Top
#204204 - 11/09/08 04:28 PM Re: Keep mIRC in one place [Re: Jitaki]
sparta Offline
Planetary brain

Registered: 22/02/03
Posts: 3432
Loc: Sweden/Borlänge
Maybe have a option in the next relese? then make the user choose where they want the logs/downloads/script to be stored? Since it's just a mather of copy the mirc.ini file to the install folder, then it shouldent be that hard to solve? i too had a bit of problem with the "new" path, but copyed the ini file to my install folder so now everything are back to normal smile
_________________________
if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }

Top
#204608 - 25/09/08 07:45 PM Re: Keep mIRC in one place [Re: CtrlAltDel]
RRX Offline
Vogon poet

Registered: 24/01/04
Posts: 162
Originally Posted By: CtrlAltDel
Call me old-fashioned, ignorant, a redneck, or whatever .. I am still using the same mirc folder (E:\mIRC\) that I used when I installed 5.7. When I download/install a new mirc, I let it install to the default directories, and COPY the files I need to my working folder, renaming the .exe to (for example) mirc634.exe and making a shortcut for that to use for running mirc.
This serves 3 purposes.

1. I get the update I wanted
2. I don't lose my previous executable in case some of my scripts break.
3. I don't have to hunt for (or worry about) my scripts (they're in E:\mIRC\myscripts\)

I've been told several times by several people that this is insane, but .. it works for me, and it's MY computer grin

PS this works in Vista, as well as XP and 2000

That's exactly how I do it too, including the mirc634.exe-naming.

Top