#202746 29/07/08 01:03 PM
D
dassa Offline OP
Ameglian cow
OP Offline
Ameglian cow
D
Hi
What is the most efficient way of getting just a number from a string. For example this123.4,5is67a8string.9 i would like to get 123456789 out of the above string. It should remove all other chars but the numbers.
I know there are other ways of doing this but its a regex am after.

Thanks kindly

Q
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
Q
Try this
Code:
//var %string = this123.4,5is67a8string.9 | echo -ag $regsubex(%string,/\D+/g,)

/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
T
Ameglian cow
Ameglian cow
T
Put the string of text into a variable or tokenize it since it has commas in it and then run it through $regsub or $regsubex.

I am just learning regex so somthing this simple is right up my lane. lol
Enter the following line in mirc.
Code:
//tokenize 32 this123.4,5is67a8s@tr-ing.9,7y4h4,87,e7&64t.48r.647e,8ur5.,76y.t56f,4t,fy4f5r,f4.y5.f4y5,f4y.ef4ye4f | noop $regsub($1,/[a-z]/ig,,%tmptxt) | echo -a %tmptxt

What it does is uses $regsub and basically tells it to subsitute all letters with nothing.

If your wondering, the "ig" after the "/" at the end of the regex tell it that the regex is not case sensative and is greedy.

This seemed to work fine for me.

Hope it helps.

*Edit* I just noticed qwertys post that he was making at the same time I was making mine. Obviously his is a better regex but they both actually work the same. He just did it right and I did it a little silly.

Last edited by Typos; 29/07/08 02:12 PM.

I've gone to look for myself. If I should return before I get back, please keep me here.
S
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
S
Yours only removes letters, leaving any other non-number characters in the text.

Also when using $regsub() you should generally declare the receiving variable (%tmptxt in this case) as local with var beforehand, otherwise you leave a global variable behind.

Spelling mistakes, grammatical errors, and stupid comments are intentional.
G
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
G