mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Treebar when not in focus #187104 30/09/07 02:25 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
When mIRC is not in focus, when you click a channel in the treebar, it doesn't switch to the channel. Instead, it focusses mIRC and you have to click again to make it switch channel. It's a little annoying smile The switchbar does switch channel even when mIRC is not focussed.

Tnx.

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #187167 30/09/07 10:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
D
Doqnach Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
D
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,063
this is not a bug but by design... I can't remember where it was posted but try searching the forum for it because there have been threads about it before


If it ain't broken, don't fix it!
Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: Doqnach] #187197 01/10/07 08:26 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
I can not find the thread you are talking about. I do find threads about joining a channel and not having focus, but not about mirc itself being unfocussed and then not listening to inputs untill it is focussed.

If this is by design, it is very bad design. Why would you want to make an input not work on the treebar when it does work in the switchbar? If it is by design, why isn't the switchbar behaviour the same?

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #187511 06/10/07 08:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
I can't seem to reproduce this here, is this happening with a desktop window or an mdi window? Can you describe a step by step process that reproduces this issue?

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: Khaled] #187516 06/10/07 10:02 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013
Click on the windows taskbar, then click a channel (or any window) in the treebar other than the active. I could actually see it highlight and then jump back to the active window on some tries.

~ Edit ~

6.3

Sorry, I tried with the target window as both mdi and desktop with the same results.

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: RoCk] #187527 07/10/07 11:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
I haven't been able to reproduce this yet, here is what I am doing:

1. Copy mirc.exe and an empty mirc.ini into an empty folder.
2. Run mirc.exe.
3. Close the about and options dialogs.
4. Type "/window @test" which creates an MDI custom window and makes it active.
5. Click on the Windows desktop to make mIRC non-active.
6. Click on the "Status Window" item in the Treebar.

In the above situation, the Status Window correctly becomes activated and displayed.

If I then click on the desktop to make mIRC non-active again, and I click on the @test treebar item, the @test window becomes activated.

If you follow the above steps, do you see different behaviour?

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: Khaled] #187529 07/10/07 01:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013
Following those steps to the letter changed nothing, it behaved exactly as before. I tested this on XP Pro SP2 and 2000 Pro SP4.

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: RoCk] #187579 08/10/07 12:50 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Thanks, I was able to reproduce this issue with maximized windows. I've implemented a fix which should resolve this issue in all other situations as well.

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: Khaled] #188977 02/11/07 02:49 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
Too bad this fix either didn't make it into 6.31 or doesn't work well. I still have the same issue.

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #189068 03/11/07 03:41 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,574
W
Wims Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
W
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,574
True. and it still doesn't work only for maximized window


Looking for a good help channel about mIRC? Check #mircscripting @ irc.swiftirc.net
Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: Wims] #189147 04/11/07 01:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
Exactly. Hope this will be fixed next time laugh

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #189517 08/11/07 03:37 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
Have you seen this, Khaled? :P

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #190089 15/11/07 08:34 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
Is bumping neccessary on this forum, or does everything get read?

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #190091 15/11/07 08:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Q
qwerty Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Q
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,523
Everything gets read in Bug Reports (even if there's no reply), so bumping is discouraged.


/.timerQ 1 0 echo /.timerQ 1 0 $timer(Q).com
Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #190096 15/11/07 09:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,013

Yeah it seems to not be fixed. frown

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #197903 16/04/08 11:35 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Khaled Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,563
Thanks this should be fixed in the next version.

Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: Khaled] #198799 04/05/08 04:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248
B
bwuser Offline OP
Fjord artisan
OP Offline
Fjord artisan
B
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 248

Last edited by bwuser; 04/05/08 04:35 PM.
Re: Treebar when not in focus [Re: bwuser] #198811 04/05/08 08:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
He already said it was fixed ^


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"