mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
R
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
R
Hi Roomies,

I have an unlisted and private room that discusses private client details and needs to be secure for members (Financiers) confidence and to ensure we don't get spy's watching in on us. (Financiers Room)

It's just in the set up phase and being tested for security and so on, ... but scripts & bots are very, very new to me. I'm just learning and not sure about what I'm doing. (Newbie)

I have used "Invite Only" & "Room Key" options and set the p/w. ... My Owner's and my own SuperOwner ID seem to by-pass the requirement to use the key & get straight in, ... no challenge or p/w prompt (I think).

However, ..when I use a dummy "Guest" to test the entry, ... it stopped the attempt, which is perfect. The error messag did say....

" .... IRC ERROR: 475. Room " It's Name " is protected with a password. You cannot join without the correct key. ..."

That's what I wanted to achieve, .... but how do I entre my key please?

Buzzen Help couldn't assist and sent me away.

Please point me in the right direction if you could.

Thanks, ..... RQ_Driftnet

Last edited by RQDriftnet; 01/05/08 04:54 AM.
R
Hoopy frood
Hoopy frood
R
From the help file /help /join
Quote:
Some channels may also have keys ie. a password, which you need to specify when using the /join command.

example: /join #irchelp trout

This will make you join the #irchelp channel using "trout" as the password.

R
Self-satisified door
OP Offline
Self-satisified door
R
TY RusselB,

In my case, ... via the MSN Buzzen platform window, .... I get an error message:

" ... ERROR: Command "join" is not implemented in this client ... "

It appears MSN Buzzen haven't implemented the mIRC function & I may need to do so via the script tools with my SuolFly window (???).