mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
mIRC using too many Handles #197582 09/04/08 09:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
H
HM2K Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
In the past i've noticed that after a while my computer stops opening new windows, until I reboot.

This means that something must be hitting the windows objects or handles limits.

I had a look at my mIRC today, it was running over 57,000 handles after 10+ hours of $uptime(mirc,1).

With all my scripts/remotes unloaded it's been running 30+ mins, it's already started to reach 900 handles.

I decided to investigate further...

I used the sysinternals Process Explorer to take a look at the handles associated with mIRC.

One handle I see, time and time again, which takes up the bulk of this list is:
HKCU\Software\JavaSoft\Prefs\com\simpledevices\simplecenter\settings

Yet, I have no idea why...

Does anyone have any clue as to where to go with this from here?

Re: mIRC using too many Handles [Re: HM2K] #197583 09/04/08 09:56 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
Are you running any DLL, COMs or scripts? mIRC should never be looking at a registry key like that on its own.. Certainly doesn't show up in Process Explorer for me.


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: mIRC using too many Handles [Re: argv0] #197584 09/04/08 10:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
H
HM2K Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
Originally Posted By: argv0
Are you running any DLL, COMs or scripts? mIRC should never be looking at a registry key like that on its own.. Certainly doesn't show up in Process Explorer for me.


I understand what you're getting at, but as I said, I have no remotes loaded.

It's a very strange issue that I would like to get to the bottom of.

Here's a screenshot: http://yoimg.com/h/165907557-mirc_handles.jpg.html

Last edited by HM2K; 09/04/08 10:04 PM.
Re: mIRC using too many Handles [Re: HM2K] #197585 09/04/08 10:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
It is obviously due to an application provided by SimpleCenter messing with mIRC, but has nothing to do with mIRC itself.

That's as much of a bottom as you can get to from here.

It's certainly not an mIRC bug, perhaps you meant to post this on http://www.simplecenter.com ?

edit:
Perhaps look at your simplecenter log as discussed in this thread on simplecenter's support forums since the user seems to have issues reading from that exact key, which might explain why it's being accessed so often.

Last edited by argv0; 09/04/08 10:20 PM.

- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: mIRC using too many Handles [Re: argv0] #197586 09/04/08 10:19 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
H
HM2K Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
That's just it though, I don't even USE simplecenter, i've never even heard of it, I don't even know what it is.

However, I just tried my setup on my laptop, and it seems to run fine, no mention of it.

I will defiantly try and pursue this simplecenter issue, at least it appears to be what comes up when you search for javasoft simplecenter.

Thanks.

Re: mIRC using too many Handles [Re: HM2K] #197587 09/04/08 10:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
A
argv0 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
A
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,918
Perhaps someone installed it on the machine without you knowing?


- argv[0] on EFnet #mIRC
- "Life is a pointer to an integer without a cast"
Re: mIRC using too many Handles [Re: argv0] #197589 09/04/08 10:31 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
H
HM2K Offline OP
Babel fish
OP Offline
Babel fish
H
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 80
Update:

Apparently Nokia rebranded JavaSoft simpleCenter and called it "Nokia's Media Manager and Server" or "Home Media Server.exe".

but, why it's hooking onto mIRC I have no idea.

/run "C:\Program Files\simpleCenter\uninstall.exe"

Guess I should have checked their first...