mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Display amount of users #196216 12/03/08 11:35 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
B
Bleahetc Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
B
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Is there a possibility to display the real number of users in a channel? The number normally shown in /list #chan - in case +D is on.

Thanks.

Re: Display amount of users [Re: Bleahetc] #196219 12/03/08 11:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,010
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,010

Not unless you're on the channel.

Re: Display amount of users [Re: RoCk] #196222 13/03/08 12:24 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
B
Bleahetc Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
B
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
That's the case. It's for recording purposes for an event. Thanks.

Re: Display amount of users [Re: Bleahetc] #196223 13/03/08 12:31 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
It is possible to get that number from the /list command, using Raw numerics. If you really need this done and don't know how to do it, I will do the work, but it'll take a couple of days as I have other projects already on the go.

Re: Display amount of users [Re: RusselB] #196225 13/03/08 12:33 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
B
Bleahetc Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
B
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
I'd appreciate it by far. I can wait! Contact at bleah at telenet dot be - if necessary.

Thank you.

Re: Display amount of users [Re: Bleahetc] #196237 13/03/08 04:26 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
5618 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
Can't you just use $nick($chan,0) ?

Re: Display amount of users [Re: 5618] #196238 13/03/08 04:33 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
He wants the total without joining the channel. $nick($chan,0) doesn't work if you aren't in the channel.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Display amount of users [Re: Riamus2] #196239 13/03/08 04:36 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
5618 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
I never saw him saying he isn't on the channel. "That's the case." can be taken either way, but I assume it means "Yes, I am indeed on the channel". ;P
Then again, I'm not familiar with the IRCd using +D as a channel mode, so that might be helpful when drawing a conclusion.

Last edited by 5618; 13/03/08 04:37 PM.
Re: Display amount of users [Re: 5618] #196242 13/03/08 05:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
foshizzle Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 333
unreal IRCD


This is not the signature you are looking for
Re: Display amount of users [Re: foshizzle] #196243 13/03/08 05:39 PM
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
5618 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
UnrealIRCd does not use channel or usermode +D...

Re: Display amount of users [Re: 5618] #196245 13/03/08 06:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
B
Bleahetc Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
B
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
I'm on the channel, and it's Quakenet, IRCd.

Re: Display amount of users [Re: Bleahetc] #196251 13/03/08 08:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,010
R
RoCk Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,010

So then 5618's question stands, can you not use $nick($chan,0) ?

Re: Display amount of users [Re: 5618] #196254 13/03/08 08:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Ok. Considering he was using /list, I assumed he wasn't on the channel. blush

To the OP, just use $nick($chan,0) as mentioned. I have no idea what this +D does, though. So maybe that affects something.


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Display amount of users [Re: Bleahetc] #196271 14/03/08 02:10 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
Here's the code.. it is tested, but as it uses the /list command, you will get the list window.. I was not able to figure out a way around that.
Code:
menu * {
  Number of Users : .llist $?="Enter channel name (wildcards will work)"
}
alias -l llist {
  .enable #llist
  .list $1
}
#llist off
raw 322:*:{
  .echo -a $2 has $3 users
}
raw 323:*:{
  .disable #llist
  haltdef
}
#llist end

Re: Display amount of users [Re: RusselB] #196354 15/03/08 03:12 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
B
Bleahetc Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
B
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks! Awesome. Do you mind explaining how to bind it to a timer? I've tried all sorts of combination but no luck, novice for life.

Thanks again.

Re: Display amount of users [Re: Bleahetc] #196360 15/03/08 04:20 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
B
Bleahetc Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
B
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
It's OK I found a way!