mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 9 of 23 1 2 7 8 9 10 11 22 23
Re: Unable to Connect #19551 30/10/05 03:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
M
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
When you connect to IRC with mIRC you can use the /server command to connect. See /help /server.

Example: /server irc.dal.net 7000

irc.dal.net is the server, and 7000 is the port. You can change servers by replacing irc.dal.net with another server name, for example, irc.quakenet.net or irc.undernet.org, or an individual server of a particular network - the latter server names are "round robins", meaning they are a generic server name that forward you to a specific server on that network. Individual servers are usually listed on the network's website (example) - so you might do /server mesra.dal.net 7000 to connect to DALnet.

The default port mIRC uses is 6667 - the vast majority of IRC servers support this port. However, sometimes it may be easier to connect on another port, usually 6668, 6669, 7000 or 7001, though it could be a whole host of others. If you have no luck after changing the port 3-4 times, it's likely that it's not going to help at all.

Does that help at all?

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Unable to Connect #19552 31/10/05 04:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Riamus2 Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,327
Ports:
Go check out http://www.portforward.com/

Servers:
Let's look at some DALnet servers...

Hubs (you select one and it tries all servers connected to the hub):
irc.dal.net
us.dal.net
eu.dal.net

Servers (specific servers... lets you use one that you like):
jade.va.us.dal.net

To try a specific server, you first need to know what the server name is. Most networks have a website that lists all the servers. Go look for a listing. When you have one, type:

/server servername

Example:
/server jade.va.us.dal.net


Invision Support
#Invision on irc.irchighway.net
Re: Unable to Connect #19553 07/11/05 10:54 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
L
Logan6 Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
L
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 2

Well, I fixed my issue with Mirc 6.14. It appears that by default most DCC ports are blocked. If you go under options - connections - options - advanced there is are two check boxes, one for DCC and the other for I forget what. But if the DCC check box is checked then the ports for DCC are limited to the input range in the boxes. Mine was limited to 1500 - 5000 port range. I was connected to a client in 6667. So my DCC Gets were not working. I was sometimes able to connect for chat but had no DCC working. After unchecking this box, everything works fine now.

Re: Unable to Connect #19554 25/11/05 05:45 AM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
F
femurlength Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
F
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Hi,

I'm trying to connect to irc.NoDramaIRC.net.

Messages that appears are as below:

* Connect retry #3 207.226.16.194 (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
-
* Connect retry #4 207.226.16.194 (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Network is unreachable)

and it alternate between the two (timed out and unreachable)


1) What version of mIRC you are using.
v6.16
2) What Operating System (95, 98, XP, ME etc) you are using.
ME
3) If you have any Firewalls installed.
I have Norton AntiVirus Corporate Edition
4) If you are using a router, and what make.
Not sure of how to check whether i use a router or not.

I can connect fine to the other server: eg. undernet and dalnet.

Same goes to irc.criten.net.
I can connect to this server before, but recently faced connection problem and getting the same error messages above.

Thank you very much for help.

Re: Unable to Connect #19555 25/11/05 08:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
If you have DSL or a Cable connection, then there might be a router built into the modem. Otherwise you probably would know if you had a router or not, as it is a piece of hardware that allows multiple computers to connect to the internet using a single connection.

The timed out error, means that your computer didn't get a response from the server in a timely manner.

The unreachable error, means that your computer got the response from the server, but the server wasn't able to relay network information. This sometimes happens when a server on a network drops (ie: Net split).

Please note that these aren't the only possibilities, but they are the most common.

Re: Unable to Connect #19556 07/12/05 05:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
N
nelipeli Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
N
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
*Unable to connect to server (Network is down)

What this message means?What should I do? confused

Last edited by nelipeli; 07/12/05 05:18 PM.
Re: Unable to Connect #19557 07/12/05 08:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Quote:
*Unable to connect to server (Network is down)


it obviously means what it says .. the network is down (read unavailable).
try another network


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Unable to Connect #19558 12/12/05 11:48 AM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
A
AndyC Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
A
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Have recently installed mIRC v6.16 on a new PC running Windows XP, it worked fine until I installed a Belkin ADSL Modem with wireless router, now I'm getting the following error message:-

[11:44] Ping? Pong!
-
Your username is invalid.
Connect with your real username, in lowercase.
If your mail address were foo@bar.com, your username would be foo.
-
[11:44] Closing Link: ******* by Oslo2.NO.EU.undernet.org (USER: Bad username)

The username wasn't changed in mirc at all - so am assuming this is something to do with the modem//router - especially as it's happening with all pc's on the network.

The same problem occurs no matter what network I try to join.

Any help in configuring this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Re: Unable to Connect #19559 12/12/05 02:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
Look up your Belkin router at portforward.com and forward the ports to your computer that are needed for chat (usually 6666-6669 work) and port 113 for ident.


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: Unable to Connect #19560 12/12/05 02:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
A
AndyC Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
A
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks very much. I'd set the 6666-6669 ports, but not the 113 - was ignorant about that.

Have set that and it now works fine.

Appreciate the help.

Re: Unable to Connect #19561 05/02/06 03:20 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
M
michet Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
M
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
When I connected my ADSL modem directly, no problems. Now I installed a wirless router which assigns a new IP address to my PC. Now I cannot connect to any server. Any ideas how to key in the IP address?

Oh ya it says Unable to resolve server.

Re: Unable to Connect #19562 25/02/06 08:22 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
S
Spieta Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
S
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Hello.

I've been trying to connect to _any_ irc server, but it keeps on saying "Connection timed out". I've never had this problem before. I have no firewalls, no anti viruses, and I'm using windows vista. And I'm using the latest mIRC version there is. I tried everything, from using proxyies and trying to go on irc through a web based irc client, to formatting. And nothing worked. I also thought that the problem might be from the isp, I called them and informed them of my problem, and they said that the problem isn't because of them. Oh and, I don't have a router.

Here's what it says:

* Connecting to irc.darkmyst.org (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
-
* Connect retry #1 66.252.19.229 (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
-
* Connecting to irc.dalnet.org (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)
-
* Connect retry #1 irc.dalnet.org (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)

And so on, it says that to all of the servers I know. confused

Please help me out! frown

Re: Unable to Connect #19563 25/02/06 09:57 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 170
M
Macondo Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
M
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 170
I tried both servers and darkmyst connected just fine... however, i don't think there's such thing as a dalnet.org network; my guess would be you're trying to connect to irc.dal.net


Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.
Re: Unable to Connect #19564 25/02/06 03:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
S
Spieta Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
S
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
I already knew that the problem wasn't from the server itself, I know that the problem is from me. Anyway, that still didn't help me solve my problem.

A connection time out, is a connection time out. :-(

P.S. I just want to get on darkmyst.

Last edited by Spieta; 25/02/06 03:11 PM.
Re: Unable to Connect #19565 03/03/06 03:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
S
SinfulResolution Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
S
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 7
I am still having problems with Webchat. I can connect just fine now, but when I join some channels, I disconnect, and it's not flooding neither. I get the following messages:
-
#chatdomain _spade_ @paul envy @bullhead @RoosterLips @Stickie @Belial @Mania` @NafyTriviaAngel +FinalFantasyRocks @Ambrosia @acidklown @Furby @JoshF +izwan @D3V1L @Outtay @Saintt @inval|d @Moslim
#chatdomain End of /NAMES list.
-
#disturbed _spade_ @Belial Retributi[o]n WhatsHerName @LS1 @acidklown digitok @inval|d
#disturbed End of /NAMES list.
-
#minimanjapan.com _spade_ @BlueHippo Buddhist|Sleep +[au]
#minimanjapan.com End of /NAMES list.
-
#nulifiyer _spade_ bwac|sleep @Janine
#nulifiyer End of /NAMES list.
-
#ratt _spade_ @Belial @Mania` @D3V1L @inval|d @Janine mid[away]
#ratt End of /NAMES list.
-
#united _spade_ @Mr-Lorenzo @Belial @Pyro[Gone] @bwac|sleep ______ @inval|d @Janine @Ry[away]
#united End of /NAMES list.
-
[10:03:24am] * Disconnected
-
[10:03:26am] * Connecting to WebChat (6667)
-
[10:03:29am] * Unable to resolve server
-
[10:03:30am] * Connect cancelled
-
[10:03:59am] * Connecting to WebChat (6667)
-
[10:03:02am] * Unable to resolve server
-
[10:03:03am] * Connect cancelled

I even put a timer so when it disconnects and I am idle it joins the channel automatically. What's the problem?

Re: Unable to Connect #19566 04/03/06 10:54 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
M
Matt_VenGence Offline
Bowl of petunias
Offline
Bowl of petunias
M
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
everytime i try to connect, it tell me "software caused connection abort", any ideas on what the heck is wrong?

Re: Unable to Connect #19567 05/03/06 02:46 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994
C
CtrlAltDel Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
C
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 994


I refuse to engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed person. wink
Re: Unable to Connect #19568 18/03/06 12:35 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
V
varora Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
V
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
I am not able to connect to GigaIRC and IRC super. I can connect to most of the all servers. I cant understand this. I tried to turn off the firewall but still cant connect. I am behind a router ..dont know if that is connecting a problem. But of that should be the case then i should not be able to connect to any server.

could anyone help me...

Re: Unable to Connect #19569 18/03/06 03:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
R
RusselB Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
R
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 7,252
varora: Please don't double post. I've responded to your query in your other post with some suggestions.

Re: Unable to Connect #19570 26/03/06 02:39 AM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
T
tholczer Offline
Self-satisified door
Offline
Self-satisified door
T
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
I only have one server that I ever connect to irc.jpilot.com. As of last night, I haven't been able to connect to this server at all. Is it down?

Unfortunately, I am a novice so I can't make heads or tails of your directions. I don't even know how it works that I'm able to chat. Is it a common webpage that we're all signing on to? If someone could explain how this works that would be great. Pretend you are talking to a five year old who doesn't know the language. Thanks.

Page 9 of 23 1 2 7 8 9 10 11 22 23