mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Page 5 of 23 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 22 23
Re: Unable to Connect #19471
02/09/04 12:28 AM
02/09/04 12:28 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
London, England
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Mentality  Offline
Hoopy frood
M

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
London, England
Sorry, we don't help with evading blocks placed by schools, colleges, universities, workplaces or, indeed, annoying parents.

You'll have to speak to your dad.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Unable to Connect #19472
06/09/04 11:18 PM
06/09/04 11:18 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
N
Ncrug Offline
Bowl of petunias
Ncrug  Offline
Bowl of petunias
N

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
I'm not sure if anyone will be able to help me here, but I figure this is the best place to go for help with mIRC.

Basically, I can't connect to any servers on IRC. I believe it started a few weeks ago while I was still at home. I figured it would get better cause maybe a server was down or something but it never did. Now I'm back at school and it still isn't working. I can't connect to any server.

It gives the basic message:
"[19:14] * Connecting to irc.gamesurge.net (6667)
-
[19:14] * Unable to connect to server (Connection refused)
-"
I can't figure out what would be wrong with it. I've had IRC for over a year and it always worked. Any ideas?

Re: Unable to Connect #19473
11/09/04 04:42 PM
11/09/04 04:42 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
U
unreald Offline
Mostly harmless
unreald  Offline
Mostly harmless
U

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 1
A few days ago, my internet connection wasn't working properly and I had to reset my modem in order to get it to work. I think my ISP may have done some upgrades or something.

Now, I am unable to connect to a whole bunch of servers that I used to be able to. The message that I get is " Unable to connect to server (Connection timed out)" Most of these connect on port 6667. I know it is not my internet connection, as I can use IE and AIM. I was also able to connect to a server that opened on port 6665.

If my ISP has put up some sort of block, what needs to be done in order to get MIRC working again?

Using: MIRC 6.16
Windows 2000 Pro
Cable modem - Linksys








Re: Unable to Connect #19474
11/09/04 05:24 PM
11/09/04 05:24 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
London, England
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Mentality  Offline
Hoopy frood
M

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
London, England
Best thing to do is to contact your ISP and see if they have you firewalled or have some sort of block on port 6667. The fact you could connect via 6665 is weird. Tried resetting your modem again? Have you tried several networks? That error just means mIRC has got fed up with waiting for a connection to be established, and so has given up. It's more of an error telling you why the connection attempt has been stopped, not why you can't connect in the first place.

Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Unable to Connect #19475
28/09/04 12:46 AM
28/09/04 12:46 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
K
Khue Offline
Bowl of petunias
Khue  Offline
Bowl of petunias
K

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2
Ok guys... IMHO m$ has fubared something here...

2 days ago XP SP1 irc worked fine.

Yesterday I did a fresh install with SP2. Guess what? IRC doesnt work... I have heard of this issue with a couple other people. Here is the error:

* Connecting to irc.gamesurge.net (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Software caused connection abort)

This happens imeadiately after typing the command to join ALL irc servers. I have tried to screw around with the Firewall settings in XP but it does not seem to matter.

Things i have tried:
1) Turning on the firewall and allowing port 6667 and 6668.
no dice
2) Turning off the firewall
No dice
3) Turning off 2 key services:
-Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS)
-Security Center
No dice

I have a cisco 2514 that i am using and a Cisco PIX 501 Firewall. Nothing has changed on either one of these devices therefore i doubt altering these pieces of equipment will prove useful. Ideas? Questions? Comments? Concerns? Philosophical entreaties?

Re: Unable to Connect #19476
04/10/04 02:12 AM
04/10/04 02:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
L
Lon_Diffenderfer Offline
Self-satisified door
Lon_Diffenderfer  Offline
Self-satisified door
L

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Can someone explain the steps that I need to take in detail. I have Windows XP SP2 and a D-link router. I have opened the TCP ports 4000-4004 for DCC in the Windows XP firewall. Do I also need to change port settings in my router? If so, is it the same TCP 4000-4004? mIRC seems to want to connect to servers using ports 6665-6669. I've been able to get every other type of communications client working on my computer, but not mIRC. I'm a noob and can't figure this one out. Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Re: Unable to Connect #19477
05/10/04 06:59 AM
05/10/04 06:59 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
BratLand
P
ParaBrat Offline OP
Hoopy frood
ParaBrat  Offline OP
Hoopy frood
P

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
BratLand


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Unable to Connect #19478
05/10/04 11:23 PM
05/10/04 11:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
B
Beldin_84 Offline
Mostly harmless
Beldin_84  Offline
Mostly harmless
B

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
* Unable to connect to server (Connection refused)
-
* Connect retry #59 irc.evek.org (6667)
-
* Unable to connect to server (Connection refused)
-
* Connect cancelled

Each time I try to connect to ANY server, I get this error. I'm able to use Java applets to connect wherever I want to, and mIRC worked up until yesterday, but ever since I accidently flooded someone, I've been having problems. At first, I was getting an error saying that I had been flooded every time I tried to connect to any server, so I DLed version 6.16 hoping that 6.15 might have an error in it that was causing my problems, but now I am getting the Unable to connect error. Any help would be appreciated.

Re: Unable to Connect #19479
05/10/04 11:39 PM
05/10/04 11:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
L
Lon_Diffenderfer Offline
Self-satisified door
Lon_Diffenderfer  Offline
Self-satisified door
L

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately, I am still unable to connect. I upgraded the firmware for my router. I also performed the following:

In Windows firewall I added DCC entries for ports 4000 through 4004 for both TCP & UDP protocols. I also added Identd using port 113 & the TCP protocol.

In the router, I added the 4000-4004 ports using both TCP & UDP protocols.

In iMRC, under "Connect" => "Options" I checked only DCC & entered "1024" in "First" & "4004" in "Last". I am still unable to connect to any server. If I cannot get connected, I am going to ask for a refund. The reason I purchased the program (a second time) is because it worked on my Windows 98 machine without much hassle at all. So far, it has been nothing but a headache on XP.

Lon
diffie1@yahoo.com

Re: Unable to Connect #19480
06/10/04 08:24 PM
06/10/04 08:24 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
E
Erusun Offline
Self-satisified door
Erusun  Offline
Self-satisified door
E

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4
Will it connect to any other IRC networks? Feel free to track me down on MSN messenger (or irc if you get it to work)


Erusun
Asst Lead Customer Service Coordinator
Stratics IRC Network
irc.stratics.com
Re: Unable to Connect #19481
07/10/04 04:44 PM
07/10/04 04:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
L
Lon_Diffenderfer Offline
Self-satisified door
Lon_Diffenderfer  Offline
Self-satisified door
L

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
I got mIRC to work, but I had to change my settings in Windows firewall, my router & in mIRC to connect to ports 6665-6669. That was the only way I could get it to work.

Thanks,
Lon

Re: Unable to Connect #19482
14/10/04 10:48 PM
14/10/04 10:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
A
Ap3x Offline
Bowl of petunias
Ap3x  Offline
Bowl of petunias
A

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 2
im always gettin this message wen i try to connect and it wont let me go in this has always made me confused it always says:
AUTO bots/clones (virus-private).
-
Closing Link: virus|Ap3x[cL] by Kanzi.CA.US.GameSurge.net (G-lined)
-
* Disconnected

i dont know wat to do please help me :confused :

Re: Unable to Connect #19483
14/10/04 11:00 PM
14/10/04 11:00 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
Sweden/Borlänge
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
sparta  Offline
Hoopy frood
S

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
Sweden/Borlänge
dont cross post.. click


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: Unable to Connect #19484
27/10/04 04:34 PM
27/10/04 04:34 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
M
mbiesheuvel Offline
Self-satisified door
mbiesheuvel  Offline
Self-satisified door
M

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 4
Hello i have a problem.

I have a router now and since i have this i can't dl anymore from port 6667 and 6668. It only works with port 6669. But the problem is that not every network accepts 6669.

I tried to forward the 6667 and further in the router but that also doen't work.

But how can I download now from a server which don't accept port 6669?

Can't you do something so that every server acceps this port?

thanks....

Re: Unable to Connect #19485
27/10/04 09:04 PM
27/10/04 09:04 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
BratLand
P
ParaBrat Offline OP
Hoopy frood
ParaBrat  Offline OP
Hoopy frood
P

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 3,127
BratLand
This thread is more about being unable to connect to a network by way of their servers. Your issue appears to be more related to a known dcc prob when you are connected on port 6667. That isnt related to mIRC, but is due to some routers having other uses for 6667 and causing some probs with dcc. (see cant dcc thread )

mIRC is software used to chat. It has nothing at all to do with any networks or servers. The choice of what ports they decide to use is totally up to them and their circumstances. We cant do anything about it.


ParaBrat @#mIRCAide DALnet
Re: Unable to Connect #19486
28/10/04 08:08 AM
28/10/04 08:08 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
P
pimp2610 Offline
Mostly harmless
pimp2610  Offline
Mostly harmless
P

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
All of a sudden i can't connect to the Rizon server. I keep getting a message saying "Unable to connect to server (connection refused)".

I dont understand this because i have been on it everyday untill yesterday. My homie from USA does'nt have any problems connecting to the server (im from Denmark).

What could be wrong?? confused

Re: Unable to Connect #19487
28/10/04 09:06 AM
28/10/04 09:06 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
London, England
M
Mentality Offline
Hoopy frood
Mentality  Offline
Hoopy frood
M

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 5,024
London, England
'Connection refused' is a common error - there have been lots 'n lots of threads about it, use the Search feature, expand to 'All Forums' and 'All Posts' for best results.

It's worth noting that Rizon have been having some DNS issues recently, perhaps that's related?

Also try:
  • Disabling the Windows XP Firewall (Service Pack 1: www.mirc.org/xpdcc | Service Pack 2: www.mirc.org/xpdccsp2)
  • Connecting to a different port (try 6667, 6668, 7000)
  • Try an individual server address. Check www.rizon.net for a list of servers.
  • Disabling antiviruses and other 3rd party firewalls, and then restarting mIRC. (disable them only temporarily)
  • Try /dns server.name.here and connect to the IP of the server.
  • Try other IRC networks to see if it's specific to Rizon, or if it's your end that is the issue. For example, /server irc.quakenet.org.
  • If all else fails, close all other 3rd party programs to make sure it is no interference from them - MSN Messenger, Kazaa, all of it.


Regards,


Mentality/Chris
Re: Unable to Connect #19488
02/11/04 12:07 PM
02/11/04 12:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
Y
Y4K Offline
Mostly harmless
Y4K  Offline
Mostly harmless
Y

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
[14:02] * Connecting to se.quakenet.org (6669)
-
[14:02] Local host: tsyk199.tsyk.tkukoulu.fi (194.188.198.199)
-
[14:02] * Unable to connect to server (Connection refused)



I get that message when connecting. I've tried almost everything. Can you suggest something?

Re: Unable to Connect #19489
02/11/04 12:10 PM
02/11/04 12:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
Sweden/Borlänge
S
sparta Offline
Hoopy frood
sparta  Offline
Hoopy frood
S

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 3,432
Sweden/Borlänge
Connection refused is that the server refuse you to connect to it.. i would suggest try another server? try one as close to you as possible.. as an example, im from sweden, then i try use a swedish server.. *.se ... England *.uk .. USA *.us and so on.. and also try a diffrent port.. 6667 is often used ..


if ($me != tired) { return } | else { echo -a Get a pot of coffee now $+($me,.) }
Re: Unable to Connect #19490
21/11/04 01:46 AM
21/11/04 01:46 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
A
alynkemp Offline
Mostly harmless
alynkemp  Offline
Mostly harmless
A

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 1
I have a question that I need help for. In the past I have been able to connect to mulitple channels at once and have 2 or more downloads going. The past few days I can only download from one at a time. If it attemps to start a second download, it will time out. When one download is finished I have no problem receiving the next download infact the one one that just would not allow me to connect.

What might be affecting this problem for me as it has only happened recently.

Thank you for your help.

Page 5 of 23 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 22 23