mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
#194732 10/02/08 06:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
T
Tomao Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Code:
.timer 1 10 msg # $2's time is running out. :-)


For some reason, the timer message goes into the status window instead of my active window when it triggers once in 10 seconds via my script. What to do to make the message show in the channel window?

I tried amsg and it worked, but not for msg.

Last edited by Tomao; 10/02/08 10:17 PM.
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
# is another way of writing $chan. This means that if you start the timer in the status window, there will be no channel name and it will end up in your status window. If you start the timer from the editbox in #help, then your message will be sent to #help.
So, in other words, redefine # or beware where you start the timer.

/amsg on the other hand doesn't require a channel to be specified since it is a command to send something to all channels on the specific network.

Last edited by 5618; 10/02/08 06:48 PM.
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Originally Posted By: Tomao
What to do to make the message show in the channel window?


By replacing # with the name of the actual channel.

A good question would be what if the name of the channel, was merely the # sign. That would stump my head for a bit.

-Neal.

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
5
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
5
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 933
That's where $chr(35) comes in, I'd think, or $eval(#,0)

Last edited by 5618; 10/02/08 08:49 PM.
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
T
Tomao Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
After I changed it to the actual channel name, I still get this in my status window:

Code:
*Joe_54's* time is running out. :-)

Last edited by Tomao; 10/02/08 09:51 PM.
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 228
M
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
M
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 228
$2's

$2 $+ 's

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
T
Tomao Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Originally Posted By: Mpot
$2's

$2 $+ 's


It doesn't make any difference. Same thing happens.

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 395
T
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
T
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 395
I was thinking the $chr(35) on blank channel name, but the timer would still do the same thing evaluate it

$ $+ $chr(35)
or $!chr(35) ?

Anyhow... a little off topic now.

Last edited by The_JD; 11/02/08 03:51 PM.

[02:16] * Titanic has quit IRC (Excess Flood)
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 395
T
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
T
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 395
Hey, Can you try adding this to the next line and telling us the output

//echo -at OUTPUT: 1. $nick 2. $chan 3. $1-


[02:16] * Titanic has quit IRC (Excess Flood)
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
T
Tomao Offline OP
Hoopy frood
OP Offline
Hoopy frood
T
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Code:
OUTPUT: 1. Joey543 2. 3. !go Joey543 


I wound up with the above output. But it did show up on my channel window, which was what I wanted. I would like the timer message sent to the main channel window instead of the staus after the timer triggers. I have tried all other commands to get around, and they all worked great. It's only the /msg won't work out the way I wish.

Last edited by Tomao; 11/02/08 10:28 PM.
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 395
T
Pan-dimensional mouse
Offline
Pan-dimensional mouse
T
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 395
Give this a try:

Code:
.timer 1 10 msg #ChannelName $2 $+ 's time is running out. :-)


You will need to change #ChannelName though.
You MIGHT be able to change #ChannelName to $target. if not, you will have to type the channel name yourself


[02:16] * Titanic has quit IRC (Excess Flood)

Link Copied to Clipboard