mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 #193859 26/01/08 09:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
I cannot get an idle time by doing the normal /whois (nick) or the old times when we had to double /whois. I am on a private channel, formerly Court TV's channel, now changed to truTV. Is there a code or alias that I could use? I have been using mIRC for 10 years and never had this problem. Or could the management have it set to prevent the idle time of chatters to be available. Thanks for any help you can give me. Have a great afternoon/nite.

Moobear
North Carolina USA

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193861 26/01/08 09:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
1st try doing a /!remote off, then /whois.

Is it possible that the server doesn't send you the receipient's idle?

Yes, ConferenceRoom recently invented a default mode +i to block idle time.

And then, if the server of the receipient is different than the server you're connected to - then you're going to have to /whois <Their Nick> <Their Nick>, rather than /whois <Their Nick>.

So I use my own /w alias that always solves this problem.

Neal Conroy.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: LostShadow] #193866 26/01/08 09:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
THANK YOU so very much. The 1st try doing a /!remote off, then /whois worked Neal! I appreciate your time and your much needed help. And such a fast response is also appreciated.
Again, thanks Neal and may you have a great day!!!








Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193867 26/01/08 09:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Neal, if you are still there. I did it on myself and it worked, BUT it will not work on anyone else. What should I do to get it on others? Sorry I should have checked it thoroughly before posting. Please advise. Thanks!!

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193868 26/01/08 09:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Originally Posted By: Moobear
THANK YOU so very much. The 1st try doing a /!remote off, then /whois worked Neal! I appreciate your time and your much needed help. And such a fast response is also appreciated.
Again, thanks Neal and may you have a great day!!!


I don't think you're quite done yet. (Unless, permanently having /remote off is your solution.) This means you should look into which part of your remotes are causing it.

Anyways, raw 317 is responsible for idle time.

So in your remotes (Alt R), press Ctrl F, type in 317, then click find next, and look through all the raw 317's. And copy/paste them all here. Be sure to click the icon that says search all files in this section.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193869 26/01/08 09:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Originally Posted By: Moobear
Neal, if you are still there. I did it on myself and it worked, BUT it will not work on anyone else. What should I do to get it on others? Sorry I should have checked it thoroughly before posting. Please advise. Thanks!!


In that, you are typing /whois <Nick> rather than /whois <Nick> <Nick>.

So I'd make a custom /whois or /w alias to /whois $$1 $$1.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: LostShadow] #193871 26/01/08 09:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Anytime you /whois <Nick> on a server, if they are on the same server as you are, then the same server know their idle time.

But if they are on a different server, than the server *you're* connected on, does not know their idle time. So you have to contact their server, by typing /whois <Nick> <Nick>.

So in your alias.

/whois /whois $$1 $$1

Then /whois nick and you will always get their idle time except for on ConferenceRoom IRCds.

But I use /w for /whois.

-Neal.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: LostShadow] #193872 26/01/08 09:44 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
When I do Ctrl F, I typed in 317 and I only have up and down, no next. Also I am using 6.21 if that makes any difference Neal.
Thanks
Moobear in North Carolina

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193874 26/01/08 09:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
I am only checking on the server that I am using at the time.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193875 26/01/08 09:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
Yeah, Ctrl F in Alt R. But now we established that wasn't your problem.

Basically all your 10 years you been /whois'ing people on the same server connected as you. I guess that's changed now.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: LostShadow] #193877 26/01/08 09:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
So, are you saying there is no solution? smile Surely there is someway to check idle time on a server or is because of the version I am using. My 10 years have been sporatic for the last few due to illness Neal, so I ain't as sharp as I once was, not that I ever was too sharp. :P

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193879 26/01/08 09:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Something else I failed to tell ya, there is nothing at all in my remotes. Could that be the prob?

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193880 26/01/08 09:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
That's perfect.

Did you type /whois <Their Nick> or /whois <Their Nick> <Their Nick>?

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: LostShadow] #193886 26/01/08 10:20 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
I did it both ways. But I apparently looked wrong, I do have Newyball in Remotes. When I loaded it with the /load etc that is where it loaded to. Should I remove that from Remotes, think it will work then? Sorry I am late in response, had supper to eat.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: Moobear] #193888 26/01/08 10:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
It also says on status screen 'server option for this command is not supported'. What does that mean?

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: LostShadow] #193890 26/01/08 10:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
L
LostShadow Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
L
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 509
If typing /whois TheirNick TheirNick does not show the idle time under /!remote off, then it isn't a mIRC issue. Something might be up with the network.

Re: I cannot get an idle time with mirc 6.21 [Re: LostShadow] #193893 26/01/08 10:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
M
Moobear Offline OP
Pikka bird
OP Offline
Pikka bird
M
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 14
Yes, it is definitely with the network, because I have no problem on other servers, but never the less I do appreciate the effort you took to help me. Thanks a bunch!!