mIRC Home    About    Download    Register    News    Help

Print Thread
Can't connect to Enterthegame #1865 15/12/02 08:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
C
CousinPhil Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Hi! I have a problem that I was wondering if anyone could help me with. Several weeks ago for no reason that I could see, I could no longer connect to irc.enterthegame.com at #pefe. On my window, it simply stops at the step where it's trying to find my Ident.

People in the room say that I am there, but I can't see who's there nor any messages they type. Whenever I send a message it states that I'm not in a chat room.

I would be very appreciative of anyone's help! Thanks!

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1866 15/12/02 08:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
H
Hammer Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
H
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,321
You might try turning your remotes off while you're connecting there. If your script gets hung in a loop, you might have the problem you described. mIRC could go on and finish connecting you and even auto-join the channel, but your display never "catches up" with what's really going on. The other thing you might try, if your cursor stops blinking when you try to connect is to hold down the Ctrl key and hit Pause/Break (probably several times) to see if you stop a loop from processing. If this fixes the problem, then all you have to do is find the offending loop and fix it or unload the script it's in.


DALnet: #HelpDesk and #m[color:#FF0000]IR[color:#EEEE00]C
Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1867 15/12/02 11:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
C
CousinPhil Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Now where would I go to tinker with remotes? Also, where is this "Pause/Break?"

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1868 15/12/02 11:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 164
M
Merlin Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
M
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 164
Just type /remote off after you started mIRc but before you connect smile


DALnet: #HelpDesk, #mIRC, #MISHScript - Undernet: #mIRC, #mIRC-Scripts
Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1869 15/12/02 11:14 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
C
CousinPhil Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Alright, I turned remotes off, but's still not doing anything differently.

The last thing it says is "Checking Ident."

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1870 15/12/02 11:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
F
FunChatter Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
Are you using a BNC/psyBNC??

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1871 15/12/02 11:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
C
CousinPhil Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
How can I tell which I am using?

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1872 15/12/02 11:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
P
Poppy Offline
Hoopy frood
Offline
Hoopy frood
P
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 843
If you were using a bnc, you would know. Pause/break is a key on the row where your F keys are...on my keyboard it's 3 keys to the right of F12. Try typing /remote off before you connect. If that doesn't work, hit the pause/break key. Hope that's a bit clearer for you smile


Never compare yourself to others - they're more screwed up than you think.
Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1873 15/12/02 12:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
F
FunChatter Offline
Fjord artisan
Offline
Fjord artisan
F
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 339
A BNC or a psyBNC is now something you DON't need to be using. A BNC will just change your host to a fake host for example instead of having modem.isp.com I would have IRC.addicted.com, and the psyBNC is the same just keeps your nick online 24hours/7days per week even when you are not online. Peoples pay to shell companies to have BNC/psyBNC I had just noticed this with the channels in some old versions on BNC, that is why I asked if you were using a psyBNC or a BNC.

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1874 15/12/02 01:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
K
Karen Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
If you have tried the suggestions above with no luck, I would recommend clicking here and downloading a fresh, legitimate copy of mIRC. Install to a totally new directory, say c:\mIRC2 and see if you are still unable to connect.

Good luck smile

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1875 15/12/02 09:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
C
CousinPhil Offline OP
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
OP Offline
Nutrimatic drinks dispenser
C
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 5
Alright, I tried the above suggestions and installed a new version in a new folder. I still don't get any new results from mIRC. frown

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1876 16/12/02 12:13 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
K
Karen Offline
Vogon poet
Offline
Vogon poet
K
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 177
On the newly installed mIRC.exe, open it up, and type in the status: /server irc.prison.net

Once connected , join #mIRC, let's see if we can help you from there.

Re: Can't connect to Enterthegame #1877 20/12/02 04:39 AM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
H
huskarl Offline
Mostly harmless
Offline
Mostly harmless
H
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 1
I am currently having the exact same problem..on the same network. Was there a solution found to this problem?